REX-The Recommendation App We Have Been Waiting For

Gia Rucco
HackerNoon.com
Published in
3 min readJan 21, 2016

--

Have you ever been to a great restaurant, read an amazing book, or had the best cup of coffee but didn’t know how to share your thoughts with everyone? Most of us would resort to Twitter or Facebook to share our great finds. But what if there was an app strictly just for this?

I had been looking for an app like this for a while because I always want to share my great finds or discoveries with family and friends. Luckily, I no longer have to go searching for such an app, thanks to REX.

REX gives the user the ability to recommend absolutely anything they can think of (movies, books, restaurants, tv shows, coffee, articles, bars, etc). It’s not the typical “check in” or review application. This is strictly to share any recommendation you may want to share with your friends.

When you download the app, it will ask you for an invite code. (I did a Google search and found it very easily.) Once you get in, you will create a profile. It’s very similar to Twitters setup where they suggest people to follow. From then on out, you are set to start recommending. I will use my profile as the example.

I think the application is setup very cleanly and it’s quite simple to use. All you have to do is tap the “+” and it will show you different types of categories. The categories will then open up for you to search. The last recommendation I had was the Hunger Games trilogy. I was able to find all three books in one recommendation. I have mainly used it for movies but I find myself wanting to recommend more anytime I try something new.

I’ve had the app a little over a week and I have put it on my first page of apps. I find myself wanting to use it more so I know it will stick around for quite some time. I have some friends using it now as well. Users are able to see a activity feed of what your friends recommend. This is a great way to discover even more.

I could go on and on about the app but I think you should try it for yourself and see if you will fall in love with it just as I have.

Download the app here http://www.rex.is

Hacker Noon is how hackers start their afternoons. We’re a part of the @AMI family. We are now accepting submissions and happy to discuss advertising & sponsorship opportunities.

If you enjoyed this story, we recommend reading our latest tech stories and trending tech stories. Until next time, don’t take the realities of the world for granted!

--

--