Setting Breakpoints on a Snowy Evening

Tim Pettersen
HackerNoon.com
Published in
2 min readOct 19, 2016

--

Whose code this is I think I know.
Their desk is over just a row;
They will not see my breakpoint here
To watch some buffer slowly grow.

My IDE must think it queer
To pause without an end-point near
Between the cache and database
On the whim of an engineer.

It inspects the AST about the break
To check if there is some mistake.
A quiet GC mark-and-sweep
Gives the heap a gentle shake.

The code is lovely, dark and deep,
But I have deadlines to keep,
And commits to push before I sleep,
And commits to push before I sleep.

With apologies to Robert Frost

Hacker Noon is how hackers start their afternoons. We’re a part of the @AMI family. We are now accepting submissions and happy to discuss advertising & sponsorship opportunities.

If you enjoyed this story, we recommend reading our latest tech stories and trending tech stories. Until next time, don’t take the realities of the world for granted!

--

--

Tim Pettersen
HackerNoon.com

Integration tech lead @ Atlassian | ❤️🍺🚵🏂👨‍💻