Tech-based or tinfoil: you’ll be wearing a helmet one way or another.

4 Things I Learned at SXSW: the 2017 Final Recap

Scottie Gardonio
Published in
9 min readMar 28, 2017

--

I’ve been back from South by Southwest for nearly two weeks now, so there’s been time to let all of my newfound knowledge settle. Each day at SXSW was a whirlwind of inspiration, self-reflection, and forward-thinking. This meant each day had highs and, well, even more elevated highs; it was easy—almost required—to focus on the recent hours’ takeaways without reflecting upon anything learned in previous days. With the passing of this time, I think it’s easier to look at my experience as a whole. And, while it’s still difficult to pick my top takeaways, there were definitely some overarching themes that merit a heightened focus.

Timidness won’t get you that yummy, orange, processed cheese.

#1: Be Bold

(Fear, anxiousness, and nail-biting still allowed.)

If there was one thing I believe all the speakers had in common, an assumption I apply only to those I personally saw, it would be that no one feels as if they know what they are doing. Of all the people who appear to have things together, know where they’re going and how to get there, and rise through the ranks in their chosen fields, nearly all have the exact same self-doubt as you and me.

So, why do those individuals prosper while we feel as though we struggle through our daily lives? I think it’s simple: they didn’t let the fear or naysayers stop their pursuits. Of course, that’s easier said than done, isn’t it?

My coworker, Amanda, and I posing with a member from a Zombie Band. A friendly “hello,” and he even let me hold his tuba!

#2: Embrace Everyone

(Figuratively, of course—not everyone likes hugs from random strangers.)

I think it’s easy to develop tunnel vision when going to an event as large as South by Southwest. There are sessions you want to see, and people you want to meet. Many times, this work-oriented mindset is perfect for accomplishing preselected tasks. However, it’s amazing what one will learn when being open to random and new conversations with anyone you encounter. Some of the best stories I heard were from Austin residents happened upon during what could be considered mundane daily routines. One Ride Austin driver explained his startup involving an innovative housing material. Another spends half his year in India as an actor in Bollywood-style films. Every chance meeting provides an opportunity to learn more and be better.

I believe it was Bill Nye who said, “everyone you will ever meet will know something you don’t.” This statement is pure truth, and brilliantly stated.

Disclaimer: I make no claim as to the accuracy of this statement or who said it. After all, I’ve only ever seen it on the internet—an entity known for it’s faultless truth—and, I can’t claim to have ever met “The Science Guy.” However, should Bill Nye ever come across this blog and want to confirm having said this for himself, I’d happily take dictation over coffee.

Proof that every quote found on the internet is 100% accurate.
I’ve shown this image before, but it’s important enough for a second look.

#3: Perfection is Not Required

(Unless you’re an aerospace engineer; then, it’s very much appreciated.)

If everyone were to wait until things were perfect prior to a public reveal, we’d still be back in the caveman days.

Perhaps even that is inaccurate. I can imagine Jood now: “Dangit, Doccor, you scared me. Now my handprint buffalo is all smudge-y. We can’t possibly have the homo sapiens for dinner, now!”

The point is: no one requires perfection except you, and you only require it from yourself. Put your unfinished, or problem-ladled, projects out there. The likely result will be the following:

  • Others will help you see the issues you’re trying to solve in a different way.
  • People want to help you. In fact, most want to see you succeed, and will offer whatever assistance they may be able to provide.
  • Fresh eyes will help you solve problems quicker than you would have on your own.

From the standpoint of working for my house museum employer, Glensheen, I can very easily state we’ve had many successes and failures as we strive to bring awareness to ourselves. Some quickly-pushed ideas have succeeded at a grand scale; others have failed epically. Well-thought-out ideas have prospered, as well. Not all, though. Some, despite great effort, have flopped. The common thread for all of these is that we learn a good deal from each instance.

Sure, there’s a bit of bravery that goes along with putting forth non-perfected ideas or projects, but #1 on this list was to “Be Bold,” so give it a shot!

If nothing else, try and then laugh at the result. At least you learned something and gave others a smile while doing so.
If you look closely, that yellow thing in the back looks like a hamster cage. It’s probably not, but one can hope.

#4: Build Your Happy Place

(I prefer Tinker Toys and Lincoln Logs, but you can use whatever works best for you.)

If you want to be successful—regardless of what you’re doing—figure out what type of environment plays to your strengths. I’ve stated this in a previous post, but I’ve had more time to think about what my perfect space may encompass. While I would imagine no two creative happy places are the same for any two people, I’ve enjoyed making a list of what works for me.

  • I need music. Specifically, I need my music. I’ve never been a huge fan of pop, rock, country or the such. It’s not because of the composition, but the words throw me off. Since my younger years, I’ve been more drawn to a genre called Trailer Music. No, this isn’t trailer park music; it’s the instrumental pieces you hear in movie trailers, commercials and as dramatic backgrounds in cheesy cop dramas. I find this allows my mind to go to epic places, and I can tailor the music for projects. I can find a peppy tune for a kids’ event or a heavy beat for a more dramatic design result. Although, I do have to admit, I recently created a Christmas poster listening to music I can only describe as sounding like a robot being put through a wood chipper.
  • I need noise. I cannot stand quiet environments. The quiet actually becomes loud, and all-encompassing. Instead, I prefer background noise. This could be the distant sound of coworkers talking, the giggle of some school children as they finish a tour at my museum, or even the sound of the rain pattering the single-pained glass windows in my office. Regardless, the noise is a requirement for me to focus.
  • I need criticism and/or debate. I work as a creative. As part of my training in this field, I was brought up on the idea that nothing coming from a single mind can be complete. While my inner ego might love to hear “it’s perfect” after revealing a first poster rendition, my inner intellectual goblin ensures I know that’s not quite true. I need someone to challenge the choices I make in my creations. I might not always agree with their ideas or opinions, but I’ve never had a piece end worse for the conversation.

Additional items can easily be added to my list. The list itself is not the point, though. The point is that once you find what works for you, try to recreate that space whenever possible. It is also incredibly important to realize that your list may not work the same for others. I think having laid out a few of my own helps me to realize, even within my group of coworkers, that all our bullets will differ. When you recognize what works for you, it’s easier to recognize what might work for others. By default, a more creative-conducive environment will emerge.

VR was predicted in the 1990s Sci-Fi epic, Total Recall. Secret agent (imagined or suppressed) memories not included.

#4: VR and AR are Here to Stay.

(Tech-based or tinfoil: you’ll be wearing a helmet one way or another.)

Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality are going to change the way we do things on a daily basis. The integration process will be slow, slower than I’d like, but eventually we will all need to embrace this technology.

In recent weeks and months, I’ve had this conversation with a great many people. Prior to SXSW, my opinion was based mostly on observation. Now, I have more of a solid foundation for this belief.

I get others’ arguments about why they believe VR and AR will pass as a trend, I do. Look at Google Glass, for example.

Google Glass circa 1992.

Many would call Google’s endeavors with this project a failure. They came out with this item, guns blazing, around 2013. Four years later, you’d be hard-pressed to find a single person on the street daring to wear these.

And, let’s not forget about the 3D TV “craze” that crashed before takeoff. Studies surrounding damage to eyesight may have played a roll here, but the reality is that consumers just didn’t want to buy into it something so frivolous.

These weren’t actually “fails,” though. Every step of the way, visionaries were learning.

(Refer back to #3 for why this is important.)

  • What do consumers want?
  • What do consumers actually need?
  • What functions in a way that adds value to the consumers’ lives?
  • How do we integrate this into their existing lives?
A handful of the VR/AR headsets currently available.

In fact, despite the “fails” in this space over the past decade, companies continue to push forward. The new Snapchat Spectacles strive to make snapping easier and more convenient for users. Our own military is already using versions of AR to expedite certain processes. Our youth is growing up with VR gaming and handheld AR, such as Pokemon Go. They will continue to demand more from these platforms.

Once companies find ways to integrate these emerging technologies into our daily lives, we will become as dependent on them as we are on our mobile phones. Things do not evolve for the sake of evolution. Landline phones became cordless for the sake of convenience. Handsets further evolved into cell phones for the sake of convenience. Flip phones evolved into smart phones (or mini computers) for the sake of, wait for it… convenience. The moment technology catches up with our new desires of convenience, VR and AR (mostly AR) will be viewed upon as a near necessity.

Of course, virtual and augmented reality will go through more trials and errors, successes and failures along the way. That’s part of the process.

For all the naysayers still out there, I just want to remind everyone: there was a point in time when home computers were thought to be frivolous and a passing craze by the mass public. How happy are you that didn’t hold true? How happy are you that bold visionaries embraced new ideas, launched products before they were perfected, and began to create work environments in which new ideas thrived—all to bring you something we take for granted today: the computer. After all, you wouldn’t even be able to read my top 4 SXSW takeaways without one!

Hacker Noon is how hackers start their afternoons. We’re a part of the @AMI family. We are now accepting submissions and happy to discuss advertising & sponsorship opportunities.

If you enjoyed this story, we recommend reading our latest tech stories and trending tech stories. Until next time, don’t take the realities of the world for granted!

--

--

Scottie Gardonio
HackerNoon.com

AR / VR enthusiast. Creative Manager. Passionate graphic designer. Lover of change and all things new. Oh, and I own birds.