The one essential skill that will set you apart from other developers

and how you can hone this skill in five easy ways

Isabel Nyo
HackerNoon.com
Published in
8 min readMay 28, 2018

--

According to the Global Developer Population and Demographic Study conducted by Evans Data Corporation, there are over 22 million developers worldwide and this figure is expected to raise to 26 million in 2022.

So. Many. Developers.

If you are one of the 20 something millions developers in the world, you might be wondering how you can set yourself apart from others and stand out from the crowd. Today, I’d like to share with you the one essential skill that is most valued for developers but not every developer possesses or understands its importance. And no, it is not public speaking skill.

It took me a while to come up with an appropriate label for this skill, but I have finally come up with one that I am happy with. This essential skill is the ability to “Think and act like a CEO”.

As I had run my own web development agency and co-founded a tech startup before, I have been on the other side of the business and seen it first hand the importance of this essential skill. In my current role as an Engineering Manager, I also notice how developers with this skill are often more valued by senior leaders at companies and they are able to progress in…

--

--

Isabel Nyo
HackerNoon.com

My course for engineering managers: https://gum.co/emcourse | Tools and Resources for Tech Professionals & Leaders: https://gumroad.com/eisabai