My First Open Source Contribution

Deepak Chakravarthy
hackgenius
Published in
2 min readDec 27, 2021

My contribution to resolving the QR Code enhancement issue for the open source app http://saythanks.io

Saythanks.io

A little bit of an intro to the project: saythanks.io provides a handy URL for you to share, encourages users to send a simple thank you note to you.

Where can we use it?
Some use cases are: requesting for feedback in the last slide of a presentation, providing the review after the Product demo. We can also use it for our Personalised events!

QR-Code Issue
https://github.com/BlitzKraft/saythanks.io/issues/109

While I did come across the Flask-based QR code generation package which is available at FlaskQR, I chose the Pypi Flask QR-Code Package which had relatively better documentation.

Sample QR Code generated

I faced a small issue while rendering the template, which is providing the dynamic link to the QR Code for the respective profile. After some struggle, my brain arrived at the solution. It wasn’t late into the night that I was able to finally succeed in solving the issue.

I found the Step by Step Guide to Open Source Project quite useful. This blog was referred by Pavithra TR who was my mentor for this project. She also helped me to comprehend and learn more abou the Python Flask framework.

I felt great when my pull request was accepted without any negative reviews whatsoever! I am thankful to Ashok Be and Pavithra TR for their guidance and idea for my first ever Open Source Contribution, which I will cherish for a long time to come!

--

--