My experience with Women in Informatics and Computer Science

Arushi Ahmed
HackHer413
Published in
5 min readNov 25, 2019

Hello! My name is Arushi Ahmed, and I am currently a senior at the University of Massachusetts Amherst (UMass). I am majoring in Computer Science and Mathematics with a minor in IT and Psychology. I am also the Co-Chair President of Women in Informatics and Computer Science at UMass.

Most people that know me sometimes forget that in my freshman year, I did not attend UMass. I was a transfer student in my sophomore year in fall 2017. I came from a school where there were about 5,000 students and now I am going to a school with over 20,000 students. Being a transfer student was being an incoming freshman starting college all over again. It was an overwhelming experience for me and a big adjustment. I wanted to share with everyone my knowledge of how being a part of this organization helped with my transition at a new school.

During my first few weeks at UMass, I did not know many people. I was still adjusting to going to classes from 20 people to almost 200 people. I talked to a few people in my classes but had a hard time talking to people in my major classes. Then later, I saw that Women in Computer Science Club was doing a resume review event to prepare for the career fair that was happening in a few days. I was not sure if I should go, but I went anyway, and it was the best decision I have made. Going to my first event allowed me to meet other women in my major and who were in my classes. The people I have to meet in this organization were my first friends at UMass. They gave me the confidence to be a computer science major and helping me with my career as being a software engineer after graduation. As I started attending more of Women in Computer Science events, I was asked if I would like to be a Co-Chair. I am honored to be a leader for this organization and want to share with you what they have taught me.

Me and my other Co-Chair Serena at Women in Engineering and Computing Career Day at UMass Amherst

The first thing I learned about was hackathons when I started school. I was not interested in participating in one because of some of the negative information I have heard. Then the organization talked about attending SheHacks Boston (now called TechTogether), and what their mission stands for, I gave it a chance. As being a participant, it helped me come to a better understanding of computer science and why being a woman in STEM is impressive. I have networked with many women at the hackathon and gave me the motivation to push through all the barriers and challenges majoring in computer science. I got to build a fantastic project with a group of people and won one of the categories. The experience did show me that hard work does pay off. In life, you will always hit a few barriers that will happen unexpectedly, but in the end, you will make it to the finish line.

The second thing I learned was about WeCode, the largest student-run Women in Computer Science conference in the United States. I attended WeCode in my sophomore and junior year and had an amazing experience. I was an opportunity to network, talk, listen, and connect with other women in computing. Some of the women I meet at the conference my sophomore year, I still keep in contact with them. In my junior year, I was able to bring my friends and more women from my school to attend and to give them a memorable experience. WeCode introduced me to another organization called Rewriting the Code, a non-profit organization that brings a community of college women with a passion for STEM. I was lucky enough to be a part of the fellowship for two years, and it had changed who I am as a person as well as shape me into my career.

WeCode Conference 2018

The third thing I learned was Grace Hopper, the largest gathering of women technologists. Women in Computer Science hosted an event about what is Grace Hopper and had other women share their experience when attending the conference. I was lucky enough to attend Grace Hopper last year and this year. The conference had over 20,000 women from all over the country, where women are sharing their experiences in the technology industry and learn from each other. Another opportunity to network, talk, and listen to such inspirational women that gave me the motivation to be a computer scientist. It taught me that everyone struggles just like me. Grace Hopper provides every woman with the confidence, determination, and strength to have a career in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The conference helped me receive an internship this past summer and a full-time job after graduation.

Grace Hopper Conference 2019

During my time at UMass, one of the things I learned was there was another major in the college called informatics. I did not know what informatics was and have met some amazing women who are in the major. This year they have become an official major in the university, and I wanted them to feel included in our organization. That is when my other Co-Chairs and I decided to change our name to Women in Informatics and Computer Science. I would not be where I am today if it was this organization. If you have the opportunity to attend a hackathon, WeCode, and Grace Hopper, I strongly recommend it. I also urge everyone to be a part of Rewriting the Code because there are some special women in the organization that share the same experience as you. Lastly, I encourage every woman to be involved in their club or start their own.

--

--

Arushi Ahmed
HackHer413

A senior at the University of Massachusetts Amherst majoring in Computer Science and Mathematics with minor in IT and Psychology