How to have free Internet WIFI on United Airlines flights

Philippe Delteil
Hacking/Security
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2021

--

This issue is out of their Bug bounty program, so I will just write it here.

Last September (2021) I was travelling from New York City to Las Vegas to attend DEFCON 29, my flight was canceled two times by Spirit. They managed to put my in another flight, a United Airlines one.

The flight had Wifi, but the price was around 14.99 dollars for 1 or 2 hours. I don't remember. I decided to find a way to get online for free, here's how I did it.

In order to pay for the WIFI service the 'system' needs to check for your credit card information and process the payment. But that means this website is using my browser to send data to their payment processing blabla. Well, that's the key, I thought it might be possible to keep that gate open.

Step 1 Browse and enter your credit card information

--

--