A Tradition of Gratitude

Hackley School
Hackley Perspectives
4 min readJan 9, 2018

By Andy King, Hackley Director of Upper School

In September 1998, I walked into a Hackley classroom for the first time as a Upper School history teacher. It was a second period American History class. I don’t think I have ever put more thought and energy into a single lesson than I did for that first class.

Years later, however, while I don’t recall my plans for that class, I vividly remember what happened as the students walked out of the room at the end of the period. Almost everyone of them turned and said “Thank you, Mr. King,” before heading off to their next class.

This caught me off-guard. Why were they thanking me? It was certainly not a life-altering class where I had fundamentally refashioned their thinking about the study of history. In fact, in all of my years as a student, I couldn’t recall thanking one of my teachers or professors as I’d left their classes.

My department chair popped by to ask me how the first class had gone and I shared my surprise with him. He said, “Oh yes, that happens here.”

I already felt as though I’d walked into some educational mirage that summer when I started my job. This latest piece seemed too good to be true. Almost twenty years later, my current role as Director of Upper School affords me the opportunity to observe dozens of classes each year, and it delights me to see that this “thank you” tradition is alive and well.

I think this speaks to the character of our students. Fair or foul, teenagers are not generally commended for their manners, and we are fortunate to have polite students at Hackley. These “thank yous,” however, represent more than just good training. Asked what inspires this behavior, here’s what a few Upper School students told me.

One senior commented, “I thank my teachers when I leave the classroom because I am grateful for their thoughtfulness in preparing lessons. Beyond this, I’m appreciative of each teacher’s empathy, dedication, and enthusiasm as they challenge us to be the best students and leaders we can be.”

A junior expressed similar gratitude for the effort teachers put into their lessons, observing that, “Sometimes we don’t realize that they have homework as well, and they have to make sure that they teach us the best they can. I thank them for their time, their effort and their dedication to making me a better student.”

Another senior shared, “Hackley teachers are utterly committed and have unparalleled passion. While many teachers have numerous external responsibilities, they are lasered in on our needs and questions, making it seem like we are their first priority.” This student notes that the tradition of thanking teachers at the end of class is not about keeping up appearances. “In our fast-paced lives, saying ‘thank you’ is a small way of acknowledging our privilege as a placeholder for a greater gesture.”

Another junior said, “By thanking teachers, we recognize the tremendous amount of work that our teachers put in to benefit us. For me, it’s a simple way of constantly reminding myself how lucky I am to be in an environment of academic excellence.”

These students’ expressions of thanks for their teachers’ efforts speak to some powerful aspects of Hackley mission and culture. In our mission statement, Hackley “challenges students…to offer unreserved effort….” The faculty identify and appreciate our students’ response to the challenges they face and their tremendous outlay of effort in all arenas of school life. It’s compelling to hear our students recognize this same “unreserved effort” in their teachers and to learn that this reciprocal appreciation provides the foundation for their daily expressions of gratitude. If you ever wondered what shaped the strong bonds between Hackley students and teachers, this mutual respect is certainly a key factor.

The nature and depth of Hackley students’ gratitude for their teachers is something that seems to be quite rare among today’s teenagers, who are often dismissed as “entitled” — the very opposite of grateful. In Hackley’s culture — one in which students routinely express genuine thanks to their teachers — gratitude may be our most powerful bulwark against entitlement, a force that can have a corrosive effect on individual character and school culture.

As we look ahead to exciting new developments in the life of our school, such as the opening of the Walter C. Johnson Center for Health and Wellness or the start of a strategic planning process that is sure to energize our community, let’s also look back at this “thank you” tradition and recognize just how precious and meaningful it is to the culture and character of Hackley.

--

--