Why I Coach

Hackley School
Hackley Perspectives
3 min readApr 14, 2023

By Joe McDermott ’14, Varsity Football coach, Hackley School

Varsity Football Coach Joe McDermott ’14 strategizes with the team on the football field.

Few children dream of becoming a coach when they grow up. They typically aspire to become actors, astronauts, or politicians. As a child, I dreamed of playing in the NFL and the MLB. However, as I matured and realized that playing professional sports was not a realistic option, I began to explore other careers in athletics.

My desire to become a football coach dates back to my days as a student-athlete at Hackley. When I reflect back on my time playing football at Hackley, I’m reminded of the amazing team I was a part of; particularly, the coaches who shaped me into the best athlete I could be. I was motivated by their dedication to the sport and their willingness to help the team develop their skills. Throughout those four years, I was able to build lasting relationships with my coaches. They were intelligent, committed, and inspiring. I trusted them both on and off the field, and they helped me gain confidence in both my athletic and leadership abilities. In the time after high school, the people I once considered mentors had evolved into my peers and encouraged me to consider coaching as a career. Because of the incredible support I received from my coaches during my time as a student-athlete, I felt compelled and equipped to offer the same guidance to the next generation of Hackley football players.

“Being a part of a team is a crucial experience that teaches kids collaboration, accountability, and dedication.”

As Hackley’s Varsity Football coach, I aim to form meaningful relationships with my student-athletes and to provide them with the skills and knowledge needed to become successful. These two objectives are not independent of one another. A coach needs to connect with and motivate their athletes in order to build trust. Once trust is established, athletes become more receptive to the coaching. When it comes to the Xs and Os, my staff and I try to make the game fun, interesting, and simple. If the coaching is simple, athletes are able to quickly understand concepts and to play fast and free.

I also believe in collaboration between the players and coaches. It is important to solicit feedback from the athletes because they may see something on the field that can impact the decisions we make as coaches. It is critical that we engage in and encourage this two-way communication to ensure that we are being as thorough as possible.

“I have the privilege and responsibility of being someone who these kids can look up to and learn from.”

In addition to building strong football teams, I look to create relationships with my student-athletes that transcend the football field and persist later on in life. The coaches that I had at Hackley played an instrumental role in the athlete and individual that I am today. I hope that I, too, can mentor and provide guidance to my student-athletes.

I’ve learned that the most fulfilling part of being a coach is the hope that the discipline and perseverance my players learn from being on this team will ultimately be applied to the other areas of their lives. I have the privilege and responsibility of being someone who these kids can look up to and learn from. Being a part of a team is a crucial experience that teaches kids collaboration, accountability, and dedication. The team’s success is contingent upon each player doing their job while working cohesively. Great things happen when a group of people can overcome their individual differences in order to achieve a shared objective. Being a great team comes with constant sacrifice of time, energy, and effort from both the players and the coaches. I’m very proud to dedicate my time to coaching these players in the sport that has helped shape me into who I am today.

Joe McDermott ’14 became Hackley’s head Varsity Football coach in fall of 2022. He is also a teacher of business and math at Stepinac High School in White Plains.

--

--