Swift : What’s in it for me ?

Anusha Anbarasan
2 min readJun 23, 2014

--

By now, most of you must have heard about the new language that Apple released this month. Yes I am talking about “Swift”. It is yet another new Programming language.

With so many languages already in the market, I was wondering why would Apple do that.

  • Why not use something that exists already ?
  • Is this just another language being added to the bandwagon ?
  • Should I really learn it ? Invest my precious time in it ?
  • Why should I learn any language ? Because it lets me add a new item to my resume ?
  • Apart from these, Will this language be sought after ?

So many questions in my head. Here is what I think :

Just take a moment and think about how apple has handled their past releases. From it’s past record, It does look like, Swift will be very much sought after, just like any other Apple products. Apple is making Swift their mainstream language to build iPhone and Mac apps.

About 89% of iPhones started running on iOS7 within 9 months of it’s release. Yes, Apple does sound pretty aggressive on pushing their new releases. And this gives us no doubt that they will be aggressive about their other releases too.

Well, does it mean they will drop Objective C ?

Perhaps no. But Swift comes with the promise and goodness of the latest functional programming paradigms.

As a developer, it is essential that I stay with the latest. How many times have I wondered, I should have learnt this a little earlier ? Well as Swift is just days old, this can make me an early bird.

For any app developer or if you are just aspiring to be one, this is definitely the time to grab this and learn it.

--

--