Please Don’t Be Like This Stylist

Cosmotribe
Welcome to Cosmotribe
3 min readMar 20, 2016

I’m equally pissed as I am excited after watching Gary Vaynerchuk live on stage during his interview with Stephanie Ruhle for his new book #AskGaryVee .

I will be perfectly honest with you, I was very angry at first with the stylist whoever she is, because Ovi and I have been going way out of our way to try to get face time in person with Gary , and here is this stylist who had him in their chair as a walk in client in the tech capital of the world, San Fransisco and didn’t realize who or what was just offered to them on a gold platter.

After writing this blog I will email Gary and offer to fly down to New York and cut his hair at his office for free because even though that stylist got lucky to have him in her chair, I want Gary to know that she doesn’t represent the majority of us stylists out there.

As we were watching this, Ovi turns to me and says “this is like the time you say you never know who is going to sit in your chair”.

He’s right! I always say that.

What’s worse is that this stylist proudly confessed that she wasn’t signed up for any Social Media accounts while I’m over here searching for all the mentorship I can get to better serve the stylists who actually spend time online by learning from people like Gary who are ACTUALLY building real businesses using the Internet.

So yeah…

On some level I’m pissed off.

But in the same breath I am relieved and ecstatic because I now can see clearly and have confirmation from a business giant that even though the Internet and Social Media are well known and used by many, we are only at the tip of the iceberg and the few of us, thousands of hair professionals, though we at times take the Internet for granted on some level, we are still part of the early stages of it.

If you’ve ever been pitched an MLM product, you might have been told that you have a chance to be on the “ground floor” of this “opportunity”.

The Internet is still at the ground floor.

Like Gary says “it’s so young, it hasn’t hasn’t had sex yet”.

And that makes me smile.

It makes me smile because it allows me the white space, the opportunity, the wide open field if you will, to build what I want to build while others are still wondering if the Internet is worth building ON.

It’s all about having the tenacity to continue to put in the work, whatever work means to you and understanding that just because someone puts themselves or by accident finds themselves in a position to have a chance at winning, it doesn’t mean they will.

It’s about seeing that light at the end of the tunnel, following your vision and your intuition and doing what others aren’t willing to do or even know that they could easily do.

So again, on behalf of all hair professionals who actually do use the Internet because on some level they know the kind of opportunities it could bring, I want to formally apologize to Gary and I hope the next time he runs into one of us, hair professionals, he is pleasantly surprised at the level of Social Media talk he can engage in with us, not just be met with crickets.

Gary, that stylist was the exception to the rule.

Stylists, please don’t be like the stylist in the video.

Do understand and think about the opportunity this Internet thing created for us.

The simple fact that I am able to speak to you and stimulate and share my thoughts with you is enough proof that you too can do it and can also add your own flavour to it.

Humbly and sincerely,

Melissa.

P.S. Please comment below and recommend this blog and don’t forget to sign up for the Hairstylist Tribe Newsletter and Bookclub.

P.P.S. Gary’s new book will be the book of the month in May. — Sign Up

www.hairstylisttribe.com

--

--

Cosmotribe
Welcome to Cosmotribe

We help beauty professionals & salon owners grow their clientele. 🥉Order our social selling book: bit.ly/bcflamazon