MEET YOUR HALAD GAMSAT TUTOR: KEVIN

Kevin Nguyen
Halad to Health
Published in
3 min readJun 11, 2021

KEVIN TUTORS SECTION 3!

Halad to Health is a NFP that runs Australia’s most affordable GAMSAT tuition students, where all proceeds raised from tuition fees go directly towards the Halad to Health Foundation Philippines, to give access to proper health education to students in rural Philippines.

Here’s A Bit About Kevin

Born and raised in Melbourne and being boring, I have never moved from it. I completed my bachelor’s in science and Biomedicine with a major in science, which while rewarding, was also at times a bit stressful, like when you stare at the temperature of a flask for 3 hours just to find out your reaction failed.

Apart from that I enjoyed 12 years of being an only child where great experiences with the family GP and a set of anatomy books from my mum started my joy and pursuit of medicine and healthcare/health education.

After that it, it might have been luck or fate but the more I dug, the more I fell in love with medicine and health care. I am now in my second year of the Doctor of Medicine course at Melbourne University and I am keen to share my journey and help others on theirs.

Outside of University, I like to keep fit and challenge myself by challenging myself at the gym and trying to maintain and keep my dying car alive.

I Had A ROUGH GAMSAT Journey

I sat the GAMSAT 3 times and wasted days trawling through different resources, I vividly remember how alone I felt looking at the Everest like task of tackling the exam. I definitely wasn’t the strongest candidate, and my scores didn’t always improve significantly, and furthermore I could defiantly pin multiple points along the journey where id built up and lost bits of hope or motivation.

When all was said and done however, I felt the experience really made me look into and accept myself, finding and being upfront about my weaknesses and shortcomings and processing them in ways that allowed me to break from them. Ultimately the experience was very positive in ways and I just hope I can help others get to a point where they can say the same.

The Way I Teach Section 3 Is All About Individual Approaches

I strongly believe that everyone is moving at their own pace to their own goals and that focus should be placed on that not just scores and rankings. No one is the same as anyone else, so why would we think that people would think and learn the same way? And learn well from just one person?

That’s why I try to get discussions and communication going, so that you can express where you are and where you want to go and so everyone can help each other achieve those goals.

I try focus on you, equipping, refining, and broadening the skillset, processes and mindset that you can bring to the GAMSAT and anything else you want to tackle in the future.

If You’re In My Class, Ask Me About Anything You Want

I like to think I’m quite a laid-back person and honestly, I’m almost always down for a chat about anything and I mean anything. Though I do appreciate café recommendations especially ones that will not burn a hole in my pocket.

Feel free to contact Kevin at kevin@haladtohealth.org anytime!
Enrol into Kevin’s Section 3 classes here

--

--