Hyper/Block Scheduling

Half Better
half-better
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2018

Retired Navy SEAL Jocko Willink says there is “freedom in discipline.” I’m learning this to be true more and more every day. But what about freedom in extreme planning? Does mapping out every minute of a (work) day equal handcuffs (or whatever is the opposite of handcuffs)?

Ben Franklin’s Daily Plan (I love “What good have I done today?”)

Scheduling out a day is not a new idea; Ben Franklin even documented his block schedule. I think I first read about the idea when Shawn Blanc was describing his hybrid “notebook” productivity method. Cal Newport of Deep Work fame of course advocates for scheduling in large chunks of, well, deep work time. And most recently, David Sparks has talked about his own hyper-scheduling experiments on his blog and different podcasts. (Block scheduling is so hot right now).

Full Focus Planner

For about nine months now, I’ve been working on my own hybrid productivity system combining a digital task manager with Michael Hyatt’s Full Focus Planner. The planner has fantastic sections for annual goals, weekly reviews, but the meat of the book (ew?) is the daily pages. Each daily spread has a vertical space of half hour increments set up for block scheduling.

While this same idea could definitely be manually (re-)created in a blank notebook, I currently love the structure — as well as the other benefits like the goals and reviews — the planner affords me. (I’ve also seen other interesting takes on the “blocks” like the Slice Planner which consists of a wheel of time).

How I Block

The first key part of block planning is clarity around what I want to accomplish during my week (what Mr. Hyatt calls the Weekly Big 3). Next, usually during my evening ritual, I will look through my digital task manager at any deadlines, open up Fantastical on one of my Apple devices to determine how full my day looks, and decide on the three tasks that are the most important and/or have the greatest impact on my Weekly Big 3 (not surprisingly, these are my Daily Big 3).

With calendar in front of me and Daily Big 3 decided upon, it is time to plan out a day. I will first write in any meetings (or commitments like lunch with my 3-year-old) into the hourly blocks. I like to wrap my meetings in brackets [ ] to distinguish them; I think Lesley accomplishes a similar distinction using different color pens. Next, I will fill in remaining time with scheduled focus blocks to chip away at my Daily Big 3.

Full Focus Planner Blocks

I find it important to also be mindful of tasks I want (and equally don’t want) to do when planning out my day. I want to work out, I want to sign off of work at 5 PM. . . those go into blocks. I don’t want to check email more than twice a day (or Facebook or Twitter?). . . so I schedule in time to do those items, but only really try to stick to that schedule (this is also where Freedom can be a big help).

Partner Perspective

Lesley and I often speak about the benefits reaped from clarity and intentionality in one’s life. Block scheduling allows me to be both clear and intentional about my time, my energy, and how they’re spent. It also allows me to specifically carve out time (and give myself permission to enjoy) to go on dates with Lesley or hang out with the kiddos.

If you’re not block scheduling, I encourage you to try it for a few days. And while the Full Focus Planner certainly helps, this could be done in a blank notebook, directly in your calendar app, or on a scratch piece of paper. I’m confident you will find freedom in the discipline of planning out your days.

--

--

Half Better
half-better

The show about making small improvements with you and your better half