8 Royal Rumble Surprise Return/Debut Predictions

Danny Vernon
Half Taked
5 min readJan 23, 2024

--

Which Wrestlers NOT on the poster might show up Saturday night?

Nothing can pull me out of writing hibernation quite like WrestleMania season, the official on ramp to the Road to WrestleMania is this Saturday night in Tampa, FL.

The Royal Rumble is upon us, and if you are anything like me, you can’t wait. The Rumble is my favorite event to watch live. It’s always fun to try to predict who is going to win each Rumble, and it is even more fun to think about what surprises might be waiting for us. A big return? A big debut? A defection from AEW? All of these are on the table, and below I have 8 possible Royal Rumble Surprises that I think might happen.

Obviously, I don’t know anything. I am just working off the same rumors and wishful thinking as everyone else.

Kazuchika Okada

Will The Rainmaker appear in Tampa?

I know, I know… His NJPW contract doesn’t officially expire until Januray 31st, but could you imagine hearing the crowd count down, the buzzer goes off, and after a couple beats of silence you hear that signature coin drop.

I think this one is a long shot for contract reasons, but don’t you think that WWE has the resources to get around that if they really want to make a moment at the Royal Rumble?

Just a few years ago, I would have dreaded Okada showing up in WWE knowing how Vince usually treated imports from other promotions. Now, I think Triple H would present him as the megastar he is.

It might take a minute for your average WWE viewer to catch up, but by WrestleMania I think everyone would be on board with Okada in a huge match in Philly.

Sasha Banks

The return of The Boss?

Speaking of recent NJPW champions, it’s entirely possible that we could see the return of Sasha Banks this Saturday.

This is also a big long shot as Mercedes Mone (fka Sasha Banks) remains one of the biggest free agents in wrestling at the moment. There were reports that she was in talks with WWE on a return, but those talks apparently fell apart.

I remember those same reports about CM Punk before he made his shocking return to WWE though…

AJ Lee

Speaking of Mr. Brooks, I think his return opens the door for at very least a cameo for his wife AJ Lee in this year’s Rumble.

Even if it is just a one off, it’d be great for one of the women who really started the Women’s Division on the path it is on today to get a huge pop at the Rumble.

Hopefully the recently mended fences on her husbands side has opened the door for AJ’s possible return.

Naomi

Trinity Fatu (fka Naomi) has spent some time away from WWE, and had a great run in Impact/TNA in the meantime. However, it very much looks like she was saying her goodbyes to that promotion recently.

Naomi and Sasha walked out of WWE on the same night. Why can’t they walk back in on the same night as well?

Andrade

Out of everyone on this list, Andrade is one that has already been reported to be headed back to WWE. Since these reports are already flying around, it makes all the sense in the world for him to be in the Rumble right?

Maybe he shows up, beats up Santos Escobar, and aligns himself with the LWO and his former manager Zelina Vega. I know I’d like to see it.

Jade Cargill

Remember when Jade Cargill signed with WWE and got the red carpet rolled out for her as the next big thing? Do you also remember when she disappeared for a few months right after that? I ‘member.

I’ve always thought that Jade needed a little bit more polish between the ropes, but she undeniably has the look/charisma to be a star.

Showing up as an entrant in the Women’s Rumble on Saturday would be a great way to remind the WWE universe that she is on the way. Hell, let her get 4–5 quick eliminations to put her over as a powerhouse. It’s long overdue to see her in a WWE ring.

X-Pac

Sean Waltman wasn’t even on my radar for a Royal Rumble return until he came out and said there was “Zero Chance” that he would be in the rumble.

Doesn’t that sound exactly like someone who was trying to keep a surprise return under wraps would say? He’s done work with GCW not too long ago, and could definitely spend a few minutes in the Rumble.

Jacqueline

The Women’s Royal Rumbles have done a great job of bringing back almost every women’s wrestler from the last 25 or so years that they possibly could, but there is one glaring exception for me.

Jacqueline definitely deserves one more moment in front of the WWE Universe, and has recently been quoted basically asking to come back.

“I would hope (I could return to WWE). Vince (McMahon), Triple H, somebody, y’all can call me. I still have a little left in the tank.” said Moore on The Attitude Era podcast. Make the call WWE!

I’ll be thrilled if even a couple of these happen on Saturday, but I know the Rumble will still be a good time even if I’ve missed completely here.

--

--

Danny Vernon
Half Taked

I love Sports, Wrestling, Video Games, Movies, and Beer. On again Off Again Illinois Resident, Southpaw, and Avid River Rafter.