Instant Reactions From Falcon and The Winter Soldier Episode Five.

Danny Vernon
Half Taked
4 min readApr 16, 2021

--

I literally just got done watching Episode Five of The Falcon and The Winter Soldier. This episode had a lot going on, but I thought it was fantastic.

I’m not sure if this is my favorite episode so far, (I think this is Ep 4) but holy hell does it do a good job of getting us to our finish.

I’m going to try to get out my thoughts on the episode in some quick bullet points here to not be up all night, but I get a little long winded sometimes. Anyways, SPOILERS FROM HERE ON OUT. Anything you read from her on without watching the episode is officially your fault. Bookmark this and come back. You’ve been warned.

This is a big picture of the World’s Most Punchable face and your last reprieve from SPOILERS.
  • The Opening Fight: We pick right up from where episode 4 ended and Sam and Bucky fight John Walker for The Shield. I thought this was great, and it definitely showed that Walker has powered up. Also, did Sam and Bucky hit at Hart Attack at the end!?!
Tell me that finishing move wasn’t close to this!
  • Torres Gets His Wings!: Sam gets his wings clipped by John Walker inthe opening fight, and when Torres asks if he wants to take broken wings with him Sam tells him to keep them. TORRES BECOMING NEW MCU FALCON CONFIRMED!
  • John Walker’s Day in Court: We all know he’s a dick, but John pulling up in full uniform with the beret gave me strong Metal Gear Solid vibes. I’ll take him opposite Oscar Isaac in the upcoming Metal Gear Solid movie as Liquid Snake please and thank you. (Or some derivation of Ocelot or Master Miller….Whatever.)
What? Kept you waiting, huh??
  • Isaiah Bradley Returns: This feels unbelievably timely with the state of our country. Sam goes and pays Isaiah a visit to understand his journey better. We get to dig deep into what happened to Mr. Bradley, and it ends with Isaiah telling him that no self-respecting black man would ever take up the mantle. It’s not hard to understand why he feels this way, but we all know it’s not an option for Sam at this point.
  • Sam and Bucky Extreme Boat Makeover: I shit you not, I could have watched Sam and Buck do home/boat improvement projects for this whole hour. I felt like this strengthened their bond as much as anything in the series, and by the time they were playing catch with The Shield off of the training dummies I was all in. I need Sam and Bucky to be best friends now, and for this series to have multiple seasons/movies.
  • Welp, Sharon isn’t on the up and up: She might not be The Power Broker, but she just hired Batroc The Leaper to help the Flagsmashers and kill Sam. NOT GREAT.
  • OH SHIT JULIA LOUIS-DREYFUSS: I flew right past this chronologically on my list, but she’s great in everything. I had to google her character to get some background as this is a new one one me, but I saw one of her aliases was Madame Hydra so I am all in. Either way, her casting has me like…
  • SHIELD TRAINING MONTAGE!: God I love a good montage. It’s why I’m a sucker for any Rocky movie or decent sports movie. I was giddy watching Sam train to use that Shield to whoop some ass. Between this and Sam and Bucky “fixing” the boat this whole episode could have been in Louisiana.
  • WHAT’S IN THE BOX?!?!?!: We close on Sam opening the box that Bucky delivers from the Wakandans. This obviously seems to be new wings, hopefully in the style of a Captain America uniform, but we don’t get a good look at them. We are just going to have to wait until next week when we see Sam and Bucky go kick some Flagsmasher ass at the GRC headquarters. Oh, and John Walker can bring his bootleg ass shield with him too.
Next time, baby….

--

--

Danny Vernon
Half Taked

I love Sports, Wrestling, Video Games, Movies, and Beer. On again Off Again Illinois Resident, Southpaw, and Avid River Rafter.