She-Hulk Trailer Thoughts

Danny Vernon
Half Taked
2 min readMay 19, 2022

--

The Marvel treadmill never stops, so before I get to the 2nd part of my MCU ranking (which is already out of date), I wanted to share my thoughts on the trailer for the latest Disney+ show I will have to slot in somewhere eventually.

For refence, or if you just haven’t watched it yet, here is the new trailer below.

I love the tone that this show looks like it’s going for. It honestly looks like it’s going to be funny and snarky. I’m honestly not familiar with any of the She-Hulk comics, but it looks like it a match to the tone of those as well.

Also, it looks like at least part of this takes place before Avengers: Endgame. There are of course ways they could explain this, but Smart Hulk has two good arms and at the end of Shang-Chi we see human Bruce Banner wearing a sling. Between still being Smart Hulk and the arm it seems like this might take place during the blip.

Points to Marvel for the horniest thing that has appeared in the MCU at the end of this trailer as well. I’m 95% sure the guy she is carrying at the end of the trailer also wrong erotic fanfic about being stepped on by the giant Resident Evil vampire lady.

The trailer isn’t all sunshine and rainbows though. Hopefully this is something that can get cleaned up by August, but man the CGI looks rough for Jennifer Walters in spots. I know that the Disney+ shows don’t have movie budgets, but you’d think it’d get taken into account when you’re making a show whose main character is so reliant on CGI.

Mileage may vary on how much Smart Hulk we get as well. The CGI looks fine, but I was personally hoping we were moving past the Smart Hulk concept to something else for Bruce.

I’m definitely looking forward to this show, but there will be plenty of Marvel goodness to keep my busy in the meantime. Speaking of Marvel goodness, I promise that the next chunk of my MCU rankings will be up by the weekend! I know at least 4 of you out there (all burner accounts run by my Mom) have been waiting with bated breath.

--

--

Danny Vernon
Half Taked

I love Sports, Wrestling, Video Games, Movies, and Beer. On again Off Again Illinois Resident, Southpaw, and Avid River Rafter.