You Say Goodbye…
I Say Hello, Vancouver!

Veronica Heringer
Half & Half
Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2014

The interesting conversation between an ex-pat and the city she learned
to love as her own…

It's Sunday afternoon in Toronto and I can't get you off my mind. Let's be real, Vancouver! You're that successful ex who moved on with his life but who I know, deep inside, I still have a crush on. There, I said it, I still have a crush on you, Vancouver!

It's been four years since we parted ways. We were very upfront with each other and we agreed that a break up was the best solution. Back in 2011, I was not the only one disappointed with your demands and high cost of living. According to BC Stats, more people left Beautiful British Columbia than embraced it as a forever home between 2011 and 2013. There's some optimism for 2014, but when we crunch the numbers we realize that there's more people leaving than staying.

I was very excited to see you again. After four long years of being away, all I needed was a week with you to realize that my heart is still yours. Suddenly, I know exactly where I am going. Your mountains are so naturally connected to my inner compass that I sometimes find myself going north even when I don't need to just to appreciate your natural beauty.

I will never be able to repay you for all the love and memories you still share with me. Spending a week with you was a magical experience. You've reminded me of all our great moments, of the person I used to be, and the things that I used to like. You're right, I was healthier, more sociable and had very different priorities in life before moving out East.

But have you forgotten the fights we used to have at the end of each month? I used to put up with your needs but you always demanded more. You've charged me for health care on top of my regular taxes. We've argued over the Olympics and the social housing that never came to be. You continue to treat your educators poorly and seats at your universities and colleges are mostly reserved to international students (they are more lucrative, I know, I have been one!).

So, Vancouver, you really need to change if you want me back! I would need to be a billionaire to enjoy you completely, to be able to afford the West Coast lifestyle that you love to brag about. I want to go hiking in the morning and skiing in the evenings with you, but you need to promise me that your priorities are in order.

I need to know that you're committed to keeping housing costs in check and that Burnaby Mountain will be around when my kids are born. That the next generation will feel empowered by the education you promise to provide and that you will take care of me when I grow old.

Will you and your family (in this case the BC government) be able to live up to my expectations?

The mountains are always greener on the other side, but I need to resist your majestic peaks and pretty green parks before we get together again. You need to change to have me (and your ex-residents) back!

October 2006: Our first date at Stanley Park

--

--

Veronica Heringer
Half & Half

1/2 Brazilian, 1/2 Canadian, Digital Strategist, proud Gen Y-er. Opinions are my own! writes @madameheringer & @halfhalf2016