Local Techie Explores Neighborhood For First Time Thanks To Pokemon Go

Halting Problem
Halting Problem
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2016

MISSION DISTRICT, SAN FRANCISCO — Local techie Sean Lee reportedly explored his neighborhood for the the first time thanks to Pokemon Go.

Mr. Lee, who has lived in the Mission for the last year, spends most of his time at work or at home. “During the week, I have to get up pretty early to catch the shuttle to South Bay. I also usually eat at work, since we have free breakfast, lunch, dinner, and teatime. I get back on the shuttle to San Francisco pretty late so I usually just go home, Netflix, and sleep,” said Mr. Lee, who spends most of his six-figure salary on electronics he orders via Amazon. “Most weekends, I stay inside, play video games on my Oculus Rift, and order food through GrubHub.”

However, when Pokemon Go was released, Mr. Lee was forced to alter his normal routine. Pokemon are distributed across real geographic locations. Players must travel to those locations and furiously tap on their smartphone screens in order to find and catch Pokemon. As a result, Mr. Lee ventured outside his apartment and explored his neighborhood for the first time, spurred on by the encouraging words of (the surprisingly sexy) Professor Willow.

“I visited a grocery store a block away from my house to refill my PokeBalls and met my neighbor for the first time,” said Mr. Lee. “He’s lived there for a really long time, but I guess I just leave and come back from work at weird times, so I’ve never bumped into him.”

Mr. Lee has also lost significant amounts of weight during the course of his journey to catch Pokemon at neighborhood murals, coffee shops, and hiking trails. “The app says I have to walk around to incubate my Pokemon eggs. I tried going around on my hoverboard to see if the eggs would hatch faster, but it didn’t work, so I just walked to Golden Gate Park and back.”

His new lifestyle has had some downsides. Mr. Lee has missed the shuttle and been late to work after taking detours to Pokemon gyms while walking to the shuttle stop. However, he has avoided any negative consequences because his manager is addicted to the game as well, and they are both on Team Mystic.

As of press time, Mr. Lee has reportedly gotten a date thanks to Pokemon Go. After months of fruitless searching on Tinder, Coffee Meets Bagel, Bumble, Happn, Hinge, and Sway, he exchanged numbers with a cute woman he met at a local park when they bonded over their search for an elusive Zubat.

Follow Halting Problem on Twitter or like us on Facebook!

--

--