Tech Employee Works From Home “Because It’s Raining Outside”

Halting Problem
Halting Problem
Published in
2 min readMar 15, 2016

After waking up at 11 AM and aimlessly browsing reddit for an hour, Staff Software Engineer Jeremy Doyle announced on his company Slack channel that he will be working from home “because it’s raining outside.”

Mr. Doyle, whose workplace is literally five blocks away, found the prospect of free lunch at work tempting. “I didn’t think it was worth it to walk over because it’s raining and being wet is unpleasant. And Uber-ing would have taken forever because there’s always a bunch of traffic on rainy days,” he said, eating a Bento that he had ordered instead.

“It was a tough decision, but I think working from home is the right thing to do. Especially because it’s a Friday.”

About an hour later, Mr. Doyle was dressed only in a pair of boxers (as he had decided that it was a good time to do some laundry) and busily checking Facebook on one of his computer screens whilst watching a Hearthstone stream on another. “Our manager sent out a pretty passive-aggressive email asking why half of the team is working from home today, so I pinged some people on Slack to show that I’m being productive.”

When asked if he had any regrets about his decision, Mr. Doyle was quick to answer. “Well, I completely forgot that today is free massage day at work,” he said. “The masseuse only comes once a month, and usually reservations get snapped up pretty quickly. I bet if I had gone in today, I could have just gotten a full day of massages since everyone else is WFH.”

“But that’s how it is, I guess,” he grumbled, as he opened up an adorable video of a cat playing with a ball of yarn. “My life is so hard.”

--

--