Celebrating A Year With Hamoye

Conversation with Damilola Shobowale

HamoyeHQ
Hamoye Blog
3 min readJul 30, 2021

--

Time really does speed by. It’s one year since our first set of recruits at Hamoye AI Labs first crossed paths with us. They all were participants in the 2020 Hamoye Data Science Internship program that started last July. The past year has been quite an exciting journey with them and to celebrate their anniversary, we decided to book them a tour around Memory Lane, come with us.

My role essentially translates to being part of those that prepare, train, and develop an army of problem solvers and critical thinkers not only in Nigeria but across the globe.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a graduate of Mathematics, and I am currently studying for a Masters's in Business Administration. I work as a Data Scientist at Hamoye AI Labs and MavenCode LLC. I am a critical thinker and problem solver and very passionate about the big world of Data Science.

Has Hamoye been impactful in defining who you are now and how?

A huge yes to the first question.

I have been able to obtain adequate and necessary knowledge and experience to be referred to as a Data Scientist. The experience so far has also placed me on the path of also being a front-end developer.

How has it been working at Hamoye AI labs?

It has been more than I envisaged — it’s been all about positivity, achieving goals, and development.

Describe the past year in a word.

Growth.

What do you do at Hamoye AI labs?

I am a data scientist. I work on building models for deployment and develop front-end for projects we work on.

What is your favourite aspect of working at Hamoye AI Labs?

This is quite difficult to answer. I think all aspects so far have been great.

What is your relationship with other members of your team like?

Great. We easily collaborate with each other and try to ultimately get our tasks done.

You have interacted with almost all the divisions in Hamoye, how do you think your role translates into fulfilling Hamoye’s mission?

My role essentially translates to being part of those that prepare, train, and develop an army of problem solvers and critical thinkers not only in Nigeria but across the globe.

What quality would you say made you employable at Hamoye AI labs?

I will say being really hardworking and diligent in all I set out to achieve.

What improvements or growths have you made since you joined the team?

Primarily being a better data scientist — worked on notable projects and took up huge responsibilities. Can also confidently say I work with front-end development stacks now. It’s been wonderful.

Would you still have chosen Hamoye internships if you could go back in time?

Definitely.

How would you describe your time as an Hamoye intern, would you say you were adequately prepared to be a data scientist?

It was a really remarkable, significant, and productive experience for me. Yes, it equipped me with a strong foundation to build a career on.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Being a Senior Data Scientist/MLOps Engineer and definitely also into Front-end Development.

A word of advice to upcoming data scientists?

It is not too late to get started. Set your heart and be diligent at it and I’m sure you’ll achieve your dreams.

--

--

HamoyeHQ
Hamoye Blog

Our mission is to develop an army of creative problem solvers using an innovative approach to internships.