Celebrating A Year With Hamoye

Conversation with Godwin Ekainu

HamoyeHQ
Hamoye Blog
3 min readJul 30, 2021

--

Time really does speed by. It’s one year since our first set of recruits at Hamoye AI Labs first crossed paths with us. They all were participants in the 2020 Hamoye Data Science Internship program that started last July. The past year has been quite an exciting journey with them and to celebrate their anniversary, we decided to book them a tour around Memory Lane, come with us.

Firstly, I have learnt to become a problem solver. Secondly, I have learnt to acquire new skills within short time frames. I have also gotten better at communicating. And best of all, I have become better at what I do.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a Data Engineer at Hamoye AI Labs and a graduate of the Federal University of Technology, Minna.

Has Hamoye been impactful in defining who you are right now and how?

Yes, Hamoye has been impactful. I have become a better critical thinker when faced with problems, and I now trust myself to make better decisions.

How has it been working at Hamoye AI labs?

It has been an experience working with a lot of tools and learning a lot in the process.

Describe the past year in a word.

Knowledgeable

What do you do at Hamoye AI labs?

I do data engineering with a little bit of application deployment.

What is your favourite aspect of working at Hamoye AI Labs?

Being able to learn on the job.

What is your relationship with other members of your team like?

My relationship with my team members has been good, it has been awesome working with them.

You have interacted with almost all the divisions in Hamoye, how do you think your role translates into fulfilling Hamoye’s mission?

Being able to carry out research and build ideas that positively impacts society.

What quality would you say made you employable at Hamoye AI labs?

Ability to learn new things quickly.

What improvements or growths have you made since you joined the team?

Firstly, I have learnt to become a problem solver. Secondly, I have learnt to acquire new skills within short time frames. I have also gotten better at communicating. And best of all, I have become better at what I do.

Would you still have chosen Hamoye internships if you could go back in time?

Yes, I would. I mean, why not?

How would you describe your time as an Hamoye intern, would you say you were adequately prepared to be a data scientist?

It was short because I was recruited during the middle of the internship. I gained a lot of knowledge, and learning has been a continuous process for me.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself at the top of my field, mentoring upcoming talents.

A word of advice to upcoming data scientists?

Keep pushing, building, and learning. It’s a continuous process.

--

--

HamoyeHQ
Hamoye Blog

Our mission is to develop an army of creative problem solvers using an innovative approach to internships.