3 things I get for 20 days

Jihyun Yoo
한달어스 팀 블로그
2 min readApr 3, 2020

It’s been 20 days since I’ve started to write in Medium. I just wanted to improve writing skills and get rid of my fear. Surprisingly, I gained 3 things for 20 days what I hadn’t expected before.

1. I read more English

There are two reasons why I read more English material than before. First, I read other members’ posts every day. And Medium send me a newsletter for the recommendation, it became one of my routines to read it. Second, that’s because I want to learn better expressions to use it. I can understand by reading it, but I’m not sure I can use it. I’m lack of diverse phrases and I can use only what I accustomed. I wonder how those could be expressed by others. So I started reading English materials with interest.

Photo by Kiwihug on Unsplash

2. I got used to writing in English

I’m aware that I have to study more English writing. Nowadays, I’m not so afraid of writing in English. It’s better than I thought. Actually, I hesitated to apply this ‘Handal Medium’. I was not confident in writing in English and I didn’t have any experience writing in other languages. I was not sure I could do it for 30 days. As you know if you build an environment, it makes it all. It was a success this time as well.

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

3. I realized what I need

It’s a kind of meta-cognition. I read ‘Ultra learning’ last month, the author practiced 4 other languages just in 3 months each. They made a team and set a rule; they can tell only the language for that period. When we learn a language, the best study method is to do it yourself. It is not that easy, but it’s the fastest way to learn somethings. I realized it right this time. I have to practice it more by myself not just following others.

I think 10 days really go by quickly. We already passed 20 days. For the next 10 days, I’m going to write what I learned from books or experience. And I want to write about my field. Most of all, I would like to express more thanks to my Medium friends and enjoy the next 10 days with them. :)

--

--

Jihyun Yoo
한달어스 팀 블로그

I believe in the power of persistence and continuous effort. :)