You can make it whatever just in a month

Jihyun Yoo
한달어스 팀 블로그
3 min readMar 15, 2020

What made you join Handal?

Last year, I decided to do something every day. Before that I just did when I had free time or I just wanted to do that. As you know, my mind hardly want to do that. I lived in comfort zone and I really enjoyed it. One day, I realized that If I stay in comfort zone, I will have nothing in the future.

So I started 3 things every day. Those are running 3.1 miles (about 5 km), reading a book and writing something on SNS. Doing every day not easier than I expected. Actually, I sometimes stopped doing that because I could make an excuse easily. But I found great community which is “Handal”

Handal” means in Korean a month. Handal has a variety of programs for people who wants to build environment to do something everyday. Such as writing, reading, thinking yourself and so on. Whatever you choose the rule is simple. Do that in a day for a month. After 30 days, you will get 30 results what you make. I participated for two months and I made it! I wrote for 30 consecutive days and I moved away from comfort zone.

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

What do you do and what interests you?

I have been working in the chemical Industry for 5 years. At first, I didn’t expect I had meeting with foreigner. So I started read English books to study English. Until now I read more than 100 English books. But reading didn’t improve speaking and writing in English. I decided again to move away from comfort zone. I used to read and write in Korean but I have not written in English for 3 days. I think learning language is not right word, practice language is more proper. I’m going to practice English from this month.

Photo by Interactive Sports on Unsplash

In Handal, what kind of change and network are you looking for?

I want to be more confident and get used to writing in English. To reduce pressure I wrote quickly some subject what I want to write in a month. Those subject might be changed. =]

  • [Work 1] Why BtoB corporate also needs to CSR
  • [Work 2] Small tips for beginner
  • [Work 3] About working from home
  • [Work 4] Korea corporate culture
  • [Work 5] What I want to change
  • [Work 6] How to deal with conflicts
  • [Work 7] Recruiting system
  • [Work 8] Korea manufacturing business
  • [Work 9] Problems what we face
  • [Work 10] About Leadership
  • [Life 1] What I learned from running
  • [Life 2] New year’s resolution
  • [Life 3] What I feel these days
  • [Life 4] Why I do this
  • [Life 5] What I love
  • [Life 6] That’s cool
  • [Life 7] What I do in my free time
  • [Life 8] What I want to be
  • [Life 9] Learning foreign language
  • [Life 10] Souvenir recommendation
  • [Life 11] What I do every day
  • [Read] Introducing books or what I learned from it

--

--

Jihyun Yoo
한달어스 팀 블로그

I believe in the power of persistence and continuous effort. :)