Documenting Iron Man and a Profound Human Being

Blue Denim Fanny Pack
Handlebar Media Group
2 min readJan 5, 2018
The Real Iron Man Himself, Aaron Eicher.

I had an amazing afternoon interviewing this guy Aaron Eicher … Aaron is a #father #veteran #marine #triathlete #ultrarunner #husband #purpleheart recipient and an amazing #friend.

I’ve known him for five years … 3 hours later, at a Caribou Coffee(Caribou Coffee) we made it half-way through. He shared … I listened, asked questions, learned and processed his story. The story behind the smile is a true fighter and a Marine who is always moving forward — but at the heart is an honest reflection on what it means to fight for physical and mental survival.

Aaron has the mind of a machine. Head down, move forward, finish no matter what. Having him be a part of @forward4victory and our beta launch this year.

Aaron tackled a 10 mile progressive loaded rucking event shown in this picture at a Forward for Victory fitness challenge (@forward4victory)

Two weeks before the event I called him and said, “Hey Aaron, I have this 5 mile division but I secretly have a 10 mile that I thought you might want to tackle.”

His response, “I’m 30 days off a lengthy triathlon, not sure if I’m recovered.”

[I waited in silence for 6 seconds].

Then he stated, “Ah f*ck it, let’s do it.”

He did 10 miles in under two hours with a weighted pack that went from 10#’s to 45#’s over the duration of the weight. He burned so many calories that he actually had to eat while he was on the Woodway Treadmill.

Aaron is Iron Man. Bones of steel. Iron Mind.

Aaron’s Story … The story on the other side of the feet pounding the pavement — will look at how Aaron used his love for movement and running to tackle racing endeavors around the world running marathons and competing in triathlons for causes to move forward from his battle wounds both visible and invisible.

This is Aaron’s story.

Welcome to documenting his voice.

I’m hoping it will empower you to simply be a better human.

Cheers. Zach.

--

--