A Look Inside Project Management With Sam Schak

Handsome
Handsome Perspectives
3 min readAug 14, 2018

When Sam Schak joined Handsome as a Senior Project Manager, she jumped into a project in-flight and immediately showed us why she is so good at what she does. She’s a team player, a good soul, and even teaches improv. There’s not much Sam can’t do. We’re happy to have her on the Handsome team.

So Sam…how did you first hear about Handsome?

Handsome has been the design agency to watch in Austin. I’ve known about the company for a few years. I met Tracy Hennessy, Director of Delivery, during a project manager meetup group she runs called “Kickass PM.” Since then, I’ve attended regularly and led a few of the meetups. It was always nice to connect with Tracy once a month and hear about what she was doing at Handsome. And when I saw a chance to join the team, I moved on it.

What made you want to join the team?

When I met with Annette Neu and John Roescher, they made it clear that project managers at Handsome were not just fulfilling the usual role of managing the work but instead are deeply involved in the process. Project managers have a voice at Handsome. I love that. I was thrilled to find a company with leadership who also expected personal ownership in the projects.

Tell us about your role.

My motto on what I do is: “With my team, I’m the voice of the client. With the client, I’m the voice of my team. I’m not a middleman; I’m an elected official.”

I speak in different languages depending on my audience. I keep the peace while making sure there is an even level of justice for all parties. I need my team members, contractors, and clients to trust that I understand them, and I will fight for them. It sounds dramatic; but my job is to create a pathway for everyone else to do their job.

What makes Handsome different than other places you’ve worked?

Handsome is unique because we live up to our tagline as a holistic experience design agency. We follow a process, but the process allows for expansion, adaptability, and wonder.

The way we interact with clients is hands-on. They see how the sausage is made, which I haven’t experienced at other agencies. It’s helpful because it eliminates surprises when it comes to deliverables.

Clients are surprised when we ask them to get involved, but a central part of our process is to work collaboratively with clients. We want them to see how the creative flow comes together. We don’t package stuff and send it off. We establish relationships that are personal and intricate.

What surprised you about Handsome’s process?

In most relationships, an overly-involved client is symptomatic of distrust and anxiety. At Handsome, we know we can’t create magic in a vacuum. We don’t ask the client what they want and then produce it. We want their input.

What’s your favorite part of the job?

My favorite part of the job has been the people. Everyone has a pulse on other projects they might not have their hand in, but it never feels like too many cooks. I feel lucky to be surrounded by the most intellectual, smart, and open people I’ve ever worked with before.

What are you particularly passionate about working on?

I want to focus on helping my teammates trust their instincts. It can be hard to back your original ideas or thought processes with fear of judgment. If we can break down the mental barriers of insecurity and let ourselves be vulnerable, we can create something amazing.

I hear you like to do improv. How do you think improv makes you a better project manager?

In improv, we have a few building blocks that every level one student learns early on.

The first is “yes and.”

This concept encourages you to acknowledge what your partner says and add onto it. It sounds simple, but it’s much harder than you’d think. As a project manager, I facilitate every conversation. I teach (as well as perform) improv, so I take this opportunity to direct the discussions to keep team members positive and encourage contributions.

Always look at an initial thought and think: “This is a great idea, how can we add on to it?”

--

--

Handsome
Handsome Perspectives

Handsome is a holistic experience design agency. Clients include FedEx, Audi, Nickelodeon, AMC, Facebook and Keller Williams. http://handsome.is