2019 Year in Review

BJ Campbell
Handwaving Freakoutery
10 min readJan 2, 2020

--

I occasionally go to Medium’s Gun Control curation page, just to see what’s going on over there. It usually looks a bit like this:

It’s generally about 80% puff pieces tailored to amplify anxiety and fear, with some famous liberal politician’s ghost-written article featured in a frame. Then, somewhere over on the side, is what people are actually reading:

My stuff.

Today I’ve got three of the top five, and two of those three are from 2018. I’ve often wondered how my gun articles never fall off the popularity bar on the right hand side. Some of it is certainly viral traffic, but I think another part of it might be due to Medium’s curation itself. Medium’s curators almost monolithically curate articles that are deeply left wing, especially when it comes to the issue of guns, so I think part of it is that the (anti-gun) traffic gets divided up, and the (pro gun) traffic is, at least as far as I can tell, just me. At least on this platform. So that invokes a curious question. Should I bail for a platform that will curate more of my articles? Or should I stay and farm click money from the pro-gun minority here, knowing that the pro-gun writers are an even smaller minority?

--

--