HWFO for 9/22/2020 — Slack Invite

BJ Campbell
Handwaving Freakoutery
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readSep 22, 2020

I was recently afforded the amazing opportunity to get paid to ditch Facebook.

This is an opportunity I literally could not pass up.

I’d read about this before in the news, and figured it was some sort of scam, and then they (I guess?) randomly selected me to invite me to the study, so I accepted. In order to participate, they poll you about your political opinions, turn your Facebook off, and then poll you again later. It could be that the thing is an honest way to see how Facebook exposure impacts political opinions in the run up to the election. It could also be an evil scheme to target independents and libertarian thinkers to prevent them from influencing others in the final months. But I literally don’t care, I’d probably sell my vote if I was allowed to do so, considering the politicians all sell their votes once they’re elected anyway, so I jumped at the opportunity. It’ll make me a healthier and less anxious person anyway.

But I have acquired a lot of Facebook friends through my writing who were savvy enough to track me down, which I don’t mind, and I’m also interested in what these sorts of people would have to say in a private environment, behind closed doors. So I built a place for readers to meet each other and shit off about the sorts of topics we shit off on here. I started a Slack server.

Here’s the invite:

https://join.slack.com/t/handwavingfreakoutery/shared_invite/zt-heviynef-UhR_42ColbGi6fz9jqtwtA

Click that. If you don’t have a Slack account, build one. It’s a series of channels, each covering one of the common HWFO topics. When you join, you’ll have to individually add yourself to the channels so you can see what’s going on.

New Material

As we close in on 1000 subscribers here and on Twitter, I offer you a weird random piece that discusses the Black Mirror TV series, automation, infidelity, and the doom of mankind. I present to you, the Saga of Infinite Fuckbots.

https://medium.com/handwaving-freakoutery/the-next-black-mirror-movie-75bc8688eb64

--

--