A Final Reflection

Hannah Sherwindt
found in my mind
Published in
1 min readMay 17, 2018

As I conclude my pilgrimage, I find myself hoping that this journey towards inner peace will never end.

A peaceful moment from my time in China

I embarked upon this pilgrimage expecting to spend some time learning how to meditate in the traditional sense. As such, I downloaded meditation apps, watched “how-to” videos, and found myself in a Wikipedia spiral after researching meditative practices. As I began to focus my journey, however, I realized that these forms of regimented reflection were not for me. Instead, I found myself enjoying a less literal meditation.

Thus, I stepped away from my original goal of practicing traditional meditation, and moved towards finding peace in the little things. Actions as simple as taking a nap on the senior patio or sitting outside under a tree became meditative, and I began to appreciate the intrinsic value in simplicity. When I traveled, whether abroad for Spring Break or just locally, I tried to bring this newfound perspective with me. On this blog, you’ll see photos from my travels that, while technically mediocre, are meaningful to me because they’re representative of personal growth. As I move forward, I plan on approaching graduation, college, and my changing life with this same appreciation for the little things.

--

--