Books and Films

Hannah Sherwindt
found in my mind
Published in
1 min readMay 17, 2018

Books

Siddhartha by Herman Hesse:

“He wore his gown and walked along exactly like the other monks, but his face and his step, his peaceful downward glance, his peaceful downward-hanging hand, and every finger of his hand spoke of peace, spoke of completeness, sought nothing, imitated nothing…” (22)

I was particularly inspired by this passage in Hesse’s Siddhartha; the description of the Buddha as entirely at peace in himself is something that I’ve tried to work towards in my meditative journey. To me, Hesse’s use of the word “completeness” evokes an concept of meditation as the “missing piece” in one’s quest for Nirvana.

Films

On Meditation (Netflix): Major figures in the world of meditation discuss what the practice means to them.

Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things (Netflix): a compelling argument for the value of finding beauty in living simply.

--

--