Building a Global Perspective Through a Year Abroad in China

Hannah Sherwindt
hannahsgip
Published in
2 min readSep 18, 2017

July 18th, 2017

Hiking along rice paddies on a trip to Yunnan province

I have been living in Beijing, China through the School Year Abroad program for the last seven months. While in China, I have developed a sincere appreciation for and interest in Chinese language, society, and history.

At School Year Abroad (SYA), I have at least two periods of immersive Chinese language instruction every day. In my Chinese classes, English is forbidden and we converse about a variety of issues exclusively in Chinese. This has helped my Mandarin skills grow immensely. I now feel comfortable delivering persuasive speeches in Chinese (in December, we had a Chinese speech festival in which all students had to give 3+ minute long speeches on a topic of their choice), interviewing Beijing locals on topics ranging from college entrance exams to the One Child Policy, and chatting casually with random strangers on the bus.

I have also learned a lot about society in China, both in school and out. In my SYA Chinese class, we focus on topics and vocabulary that are relevant to China today. For example, as part of a unit on the elderly in China, I was able to go out into the streets of Beijing and interview elders about their perspectives on topics ranging from filial piety to nursing homes. I feel that experiences like this will help me bring a new and (hopefully) informed perspective to the Global Scholars program.

Through SYA, I have also had the opportunity to study Chinese politics, history, and economics. I have learned about things that I can see unfolding around me. For example, I could personally relate to a unit on urbanization and modernization of Beijing when I saw my favorite hole-in-the-wall restaurant torn down to make room for a skyscraper. I have also been able to see firsthand landmarks that are deeply important to Chinese history, like Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City.

Between study trips, personal explorations of Beijing, and class discussions, I feel that I have gained a global perspective on Chinese society. I hope to develop this perspective through the Global School Program.

--

--