Hi, I am Hanny

a UX/UI designer in Hong Kong

Hanny Yeung
Hanny’s Portfolio
3 min readAug 3, 2017

--

Adventurous

I am an explorer. I am a flexible and agile Mario jumping around looking for mushrooms and flowers. I actively try, learn and adapt to new things, and I’m excited by change and experiments.

I have a desire to excel through continuous improvements, which pushes my limits in every other project. To me, there is never “getting used to”, but “how can this be even better”. I believe that the more blocks of walls I smash, the clearer the path it will be to a solution.

Empathetic

With a background in Psychology, I celebrate research. I enjoy the process of observing, empathising and creating. I believe UX is about making people remember and love a brand by designing the emotions they go through.

I hope to bring innovation to the world by better designing the invisible parts of our lives. I am not good at putting price tags on products or services, but what I am good at is putting priceless smiles on people’s faces through touching their hearts.

Passionate

I have a natural instinct in experience design. When people were users of apps, I was already an enthusiast who strives to improve them. I am the person who formally emails developers out of the blue to discuss features or designs, and I’ve been doing this for 6 years.

In 2015, I went to Portugal by myself for a special trip — visiting 2 independent developers who I’ve made friends online just through user feedback. Being particularly active in product testing, I was invited to Google in 2017 for a UX research, which eventually sparked my interest in this industry.

I love technology. From using to designing, I have always wanted to bring my passion to another level and join the pioneers of the future.

UX is only my first step.

Left: Portugal, 2015 // Right: Google HK, 2017

What else do I do?

I collaborate with Barney Yau, a design teacher, to teach non-designers about UX design.

Then, I co-founded Blank Slate, to share our understandings and learnings of UX design with the wider community in Hong Kong.

I make beautiful presentations. I design and teach Prezi as a global student ambassador, but I’m also proficient in Keynote.

I know digital marketing through a part-time GA course, and worked on a concept Soupaholic — an e-commerce platform for traditional Chinese soups & ingredients.

I run a weekend project with a group of young people I met from a hackathon. We’re working on an app for people to help and get help from each other easily.

In my free time, I read tech news, play with Android system modifications and create automated tasks to make my life easier.

Resume

Let’s have a conversation 👋

yeunghanny@gmail.com · www.linkedin.com/in/hannyyeung

--

--

Hanny Yeung
Hanny’s Portfolio

UX/UI Designer with a Psychology background. Touching people’s hearts and making them smile. www.linkedin.com/in/hannyyeung/