Damen Hansen
Hansen Smith Travels
6 min readDec 29, 2017

--

Hội An, city of lanterns. Well, that’s what it makes me think of after our evening out in the ancient town this evening.

Our hotel is gorgeous with outstanding service, in fact the best I have ever experienced in any hotel in the world. Our room overlooks the spacious pool.

We started the day with a very cosmopolitan mishmash for breakfast. I struggle to choose so had bacon, sausage, Vietnamese sausage, croissant, tropical fruit, sticky rice with chilli 🌶, garlic and coriander and Shaoi mai dumplings. Sweet coffee and a watermelon 🍉 juice…. 🐷.

We headed out to get on the shuttle and I was amused by the construction worker who ran the extension cord across the road outside the hotel with scooter, cars 🚙 and buses 🚌 just running over it, sweet as.

On the shuttle in to the old town, and went straight to a recommended tailor. A very smart place with hundreds of fabrics and extremely good service. No less than 26 measurements to accomodate my portly shape and I have 2 classy blazers to pick up tomorrow. I am also getting some hand made dress boots and two Paul Ego type shirts 🤣. All very affordable.

Hội An is a very old city and has been occupied by Japanese, Chinese and French over the Centuries. Each culture leaves their mark.

The architecture spans from 12th century to early 19th and is beautiful. I was in a snappy clicky tourist frenzy.

Teenage boys need lots of food regularly 🍜🍤🥘 So we found an open food hall, the selection was impressive, crowded but we had a delicious second breakfast of spring rolls and wontons with some fresh fruit. Liam and I are loving the mangoes and Jac and I are relishing the different types of lychee. Also, most stalls do fresh fruit and vegetable juice or smoothies, so it’s easy to get your 5 plus a day. 🍉🥥🥕🍌🍏🍊🍋🥤

First time I had to put the 🌶 on the side. It was 🔥

We did some sightseeing and came back to the room for a rest. Liam and Jac decorated themselves. I looked at some cool clothes. Yeah maybe I bought some.

We wandered back admiring the lanterns. Was a great day in Hội An.

Chuc Mung Nam Moi (Happy new year)

Tạm biệt (goodbye)

--

--

Damen Hansen
Hansen Smith Travels

Passionate about people and potential in this changing world.