PSYCHEDELICS | MENTAL HEALTH

I Am Enough: How Psychedelics Help Me Befriend the Negative Voices in My Head

After two medicine journeys, I have a lot more compassion for myself.

Mina Samuels
Happy Brain Club
Published in
16 min readJan 17, 2021

--

Ira Mint on Unsplash

When I read Michael Pollan’s book, How To Change Your Mind, I knew I wanted to change my mind, too. For years, I have been exploring the borders of consciousness, the possibility of expanding those limits and how we can connect more deeply with ourselves and others. I have a daily meditation practice. I’ve attended silent meditation retreats, gone on a vision fast, floated in a sensory deprivation tank, participated in ultra-marathons and hooked my brain up to a neurofeedback machine, among other things.

For two years after I read Pollan’s book, I put out feelers, trying to find my way to a guide who might facilitate a sacred medicine journey for me. I struck out with all my promising information sources: medical and therapist types, plus spiritual and psychic types. None of them even knew someone who knew someone. Then, I found my opportunity in a most unlikely place, over tea with a pretty straight arrow friend in her 60s. She connected me to the husband of a friend, who in turn put me in touch with two wonderful guides. The experiences were worth the wait.

--

--

Mina Samuels
Happy Brain Club

Writer. Performer. Citizen. Traveler. Enthusiast. Author of Run Like a Girl 365 Days A Year and other books. www.minasamuels.com