The 7 Most Ridiculous Things I Did That Beat Social Anxiety Forever

A few moments of madness changed my life for the better, forever

Alexander M. Combstrong
Happy Brain Club

--

Photo by Miguel Andrade on Unsplash

Social anxiety is currently the most common anxiety disorder, and can be a really difficult thing to treat.

We’re told to push out of and expand our comfort zones because it works. Sometimes though, that’s easier said than done.

I had some unusual ideas about how to do it.

Here are some of the more crazy things I did in leading me out of my social anxiety.

Requesting Rejections

Social anxiety is all about being judged by others, and one mark of being negatively judged is being socially rejected.

In order to teach my brain that there was life after rejection, I manufactured it.

I would just walk up to a few random girls who seemed like they wouldn’t be too bugged by being interrupted, and asked outright if they’d reject me.

This was scary of course, and most definitely outside my comfort zone. Usually, they wouldn’t reject me at all but be amused and want to start a conversation, but I always explained what I was doing and saw it through to some of the kindest, most gentle rejections you could hope for.

--

--

Alexander M. Combstrong
Happy Brain Club

Research-backed ways to change your life for the better. Out now: The Confident Introvert’s Handbook. Actor/screenwriter. Forge, Better Humans, Mind Cafe.