The MacPizza: Treating Social Anxiety by Asking a Very Silly Question

The most terrifying questions to ask can also be the most ridiculous

Alexander M. Combstrong
Happy Brain Club

--

Image courtesy of Tejas Prajapati at pexels.com

As a recovered longtime sufferer of social anxiety, embarrassment was terrifying for me.

But I also knew I was missing out on life in so many ways, and decided one day that I would beat the anxiety forever – whatever it took.

Over the course of a few years, I did several unusual things to stretch out of my comfort zone with various results.

But one sticks out in my mind that I’ll remember forever.

It’s called the MacPizza, and the idea is as terrifying as it is simple.

The MacPizza

MacDonald’s don’t serve pizza, everyone knows that. It would take an idiot to order a pizza from MacDonald’s – and an even bigger one to mistake the fast-food chain for an Indian restaurant.

What better way to teach your anxious brain that embarrassment isn’t fatal after all, and in fact actually has no negative consequences, than to present myself as that very idiot.

The simple MacPizza procedure went like this:

  • Walk into a MacDonald’s restaurant and join the queue.

--

--

Alexander M. Combstrong
Happy Brain Club

Research-backed ways to change your life for the better. Out now: The Confident Introvert’s Handbook. Actor/screenwriter. Forge, Better Humans, Mind Cafe.