You Can Improve Your Skin With Pure Imagination, Starting Today (Science-Backed)

Research offers three possibilities for how this too-good-to-be-true method can actually work

Alexander M. Combstrong
Happy Brain Club

--

Created by the author with StarryAI

A new study has apparently found that Gen Xers believe acne to make you appear less professional in the workplace. It can make you feel self-conscious, feel unattractive, and get you down. I know, because I had it badly, back before Gen X came along to judge me.

If there’s any good news on that study, it’s that it’s being reported in the Daily Mail, one of the shitter of the Great British Shitrags claiming to be a newspaper, so take that finding with a pinch of salt. But the fact remains that having acne is no fun. Mine really got to me, once upon a time.

It’s not just me. Very recently, a Tiktok account was removed for ‘gruesome content’ because it was about the user’s acne. Although the decision was reversed, it shows just how far we have to go.

One magical day, I apparently cured mine. With nothing but my imagination.

When it returned in my early 20s, I did it again. Both times it took under a week, and I’d had it for years. It always seemed a bit too weird to be true, and just remained one of the quirks in my life that wouldn’t be explained. But…

--

--

Alexander M. Combstrong
Happy Brain Club

Research-backed ways to change your life for the better. Out now: The Confident Introvert’s Handbook. Actor/screenwriter. Forge, Better Humans, Mind Cafe.