Git Got Issues

Naufal
HappyFresh Fleet Tracker
2 min readDec 26, 2019

With the introduction of version control as a rudimentary part of software development, a lot of challenges are met during our 3 month development of the HappyFresh Fleet Tracker. In this short article, I will be discussing some of the Git problems I’ve encountered.

An issue that came to mind was during the second month of development, during the process of developing the map interface using Mapbox third-party API. I was in the midst of wrapping up the base of the component, and towards the end of development I didn’t realize that some of the changes that I made failed the unit test:

https://gitlab.cs.ui.ac.id/it-project-kki/2019/happyfresh-fleet-tracker/merge_requests/12?diff_id=8638&start_sha=989fe9bb52601934b3d847e3c6fbb47b7ee87fbf

The snapshot above shows the merge request .The pipelines hadn’t fully succeeded yet — the testing pipeline sill failed, which meant that the deployment couldn’t succeed, as well. However, due to me disabling e-mail notifications on pipeline status in gitlab.cs, I wasn’t notified that the recent commit failed, and so I merged the branch onto the user story branch US-1. Another aspect that convinced me the merge was fine because few days before the failing commit, the code review comments seemed positive:

This issue largely comes from my unfamiliarity with change tracking and version control. With this incident happening, it provided a valuable experience of how a simple mistake of not double-checking a merge request could have large consequences. Had this change went into production, our mistakes would have been shipped and the effect would have been much more disastrous.

--

--