Become New Member of Product Team

First experience in the new office and got my dream job

Puji Utami
HappyTech
4 min readFeb 20, 2019

--

On this February I just got a new job part of Product Team on HappyFresh, and finally, I got my dream job and I can implement what I learn on my latest company before. Since October I change my direction from learning about product development to how to handle an influencer. At the moment I think I need to back on my direction in product development. Finally, I got a big opportunity in HappyFresh, and I really love the culture, maybe this my first time working on tech company, and I need to learn anything about that, and not only learn about tech but the culture, in here, I learn about multicultural too. That's really blended and since long time ago, I want to work with the people from around the world, and finally, I did it now.

My new office

My onboard day

Like I mention before, this is my first time working on “real” tech company, so I got new experience about everything. On my first day, I got a “starter pack” file that explains everything that I must to do from day by day in my first week. so I need to learn about it. I have my own culture, when I learn, even something that I learned before, I need to make my glass empty, so that I can fill it with another water, like a when you want to drink coffee, you can’t pour some tea on your cup, but you need to make a coffee, same as when you move to another company, you need to follow their culture. Every time when I got a job or project I always try to fit into their culture, so you can be in harmony with others and connected. In this time, maybe take time, but if you can blend and feel comfort maybe the process very fast, and I think I need to learn to adapt to the new culture.

Really lucky when my first day, everything seems so clear and really easy to access everything that I need to learn about the company, they prepared everything in one platform and I can access and read everything, for example, they make the tutorial for mac switcher from a windows user. I think it’s simple but we needed. That simple thing they prepared for us as a new employee. That's really helped me on my first day.

Product Management in Real Battlefield

Before I joined HappyFresh team, I learn about product management, but I think it’s not enough when I only learn and mentoring about that, I need the real challenge so I decided to leave my job, resigned and choose to be Product Manager team in HappyFresh. I think I need to refresh my brain because I think I am forgetting some part from Product Management material and something. And Thank God! In here I got Agile Coach, and before I start my first day I ask Pepe (Scrum Master and Agile Coach atHappyFresh) to help me become a speaker on UXiD meet up, the first meet up event on this year that organized by UXiD Jakarta Community, and I also part of that community, then I can learn some spoiler about life at HappyFresh, thanks, Pepe being our speaker. And on my second day, after I learn about the preface about HappyFresh product, he guide me to refresh my knowledge about Agile Development, maybe I really rare talk to people before, and I need to improve my critical thinking more, and since Sunday, I have mentor session with my best friend Gerald, and we talk a lot of things and he lead me to open up my mind, and speak up everything on my mind, then I grateful because in this new office I can more openness with new people, maybe because of the vibes.

Okay, back to Product Management, I really excited to start my new job in the real world into a product team. And then I have a one on one session with Hanifa, head of lead PM in HappyFresh, and she told me every single journey that PMs do in HappyFresh, I am happy because, every single word that she delivers to be clear, and also the documentation about the product also clear enough to me. Pepe told me on his session, I must remember if work together as a team, we need to learn more about Agile, Agile more than a framework, is not a framework or tool which will support your work. But Agile is a mindset, yeah, many people got the wrong assumption about Agile. That’s a mindset, and we need to understand and implement our daily activity because Agile very relates to our life, we must be transparency, inspection, and adaptation. Okay, I’ll write another story about agile in another section.

And become Product Manager is my dream job, and I learn anything on first time, really happy because I have a tech product team that really close to me and we are connected each other in day one. I need to learn more about the product that really close to our customer, and the requirement and how to work is really different and suddenly I fall in love with their way to work, since I read the confluence, because every single thing that I need as a newbie on one file and I can access easily. I know it must take time to make that process and I appreciated that, as a new employee that documentation help me so much. I need to learn more about product management too because in the real world is very different, okay well, I’ll keep writing my journey on HappyFresh, because I need to improve my English because almost every day we communicate with English. I hope you enjoy my story. See ya later on another part.

--

--

Puji Utami
HappyTech

Nomad, passionate about tech and product. An unusual woman who loves transforms something beautiful with yarn and her magic wand.