Lessons Learned From Building Design Systems — Figma vs. Framer

ruucm
Harbor School (하버 스쿨)
5 min readJan 2, 2021

--

(Figma icon from David Liceaga)

Over the years, I’ve used Figma and Framer for the most time for design, and what I’ve learned is that you could use them for your purpose, not by defining the best tool. What the finest user of tools know is that every team and designers are in different situations. Here are my explained situations and each usage of Figma and Framer.

Running my own business, “Harbor School,” gives me many various situations me. In 2019, I started all designs and developments in Framer cause I’ve been a big fanboy of this tool. Drawing shapes with code in Framer shows efficiency quickly, but failure came when I managed a sophisticated system. Every moment of designing new things, I had to make new components. New components seem to newer kinds of kids of the system family. These problems burden me from thinking of making other design pages cause I always had to make not aligned components for new pages. At that time, I didn’t know the design system should have a more solid base under the components.

Another chance appears the next year. It’s been a while since the Figma appears the most popular design system tool in the area. I decided to use Figma to redesign…

--

--