The Kitchen Incident

Phillip Kapeleris
Hard Corn
Published in
2 min readMar 1, 2019

In which two brothers find themselves sharing more than they bargained for.

1. int. family home. stairwell. midday.

ERIC walks downstairs, through a hallway, to a door. There is a persistent knocking sound, getting louder and louder.

As he approaches door, he strains his ears and then looks confused for a moment, before knowingly shaking his head.

2. int. family home. dining room. midday.

At the dining room table, LIAM is sitting naked, masturbating. ERIC stands in the doorway with a look of disapproval. He’s annoyed. This isn’t the first time this has happened.

LIAM

(Sheepish, but continues masturbating) Oh hey, man, h-how’s it going? You’re ah, up early.

ERIC

It’s midday.

LIAM

Oh.

LIAM looks from his crotch to ERIC again. He half heartedly masturbates, but it’s just a sad, flaccid sound now. Both brothers go to say something at the same time.

LIAM

No, no, you go.

ERIC

I just wanted a coffee. I’ll make it, then let you finish up. But you gotta promise to stop doing this.

LIAM

(Smiling) Of course man, last time, I promise! And this time, I mean it.

ERIC walks across to the kitchen to boil water. The brothers don’t make eye contact.

ERIC

Did you want a coffee, or?

LIAM

Nah, nah, I’m good man, I’m goooood.

ERIC waits for the kettle to boil.

ERIC

So, did Mom tell you we’re going to Aunty Ange’s this weekend?

LIAM

Ah, she mentioned it but I think I’m giving it a miss. I got that essay due next week and I have done literally shit all.

ERIC pours the boiled water into his coffee mug.

ERIC

OK, I’ll see you later.

LIAM

Thanks man, see ya in a bit.

As ERIC walks into the hallway, we hear the sound of LIAM pulling tissues out of the tissue box.

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

--

--