Introducing Hardly Black: The Publication

Ian Greenfield
Hardly Black
Published in
2 min readJun 8, 2021

--

A year ago I wrote an article titled: I’m Black. My Parents Are White. Here’s What I’ve Learned About Racism in America.

America was in the wake of George Floyd, and the fight for racial justice was at an all time high.

My experience as a black man in a white family is one I’ve wanted to express in words for quite some time. As our country stood halted in tension, anger and grief, I felt compelled to share my thoughts.

The process of putting my thoughts on paper was humbling. Through the chaos, I was able to surface feelings I’ve had about events in my past. And amidst the tension, real conversations have been had with people spanning the globe. I’ve even been called out publicly by a person many consider to be a leading voice in race relations.

Hi, Marley.

This last year has been a journey. Speaking to those who’ve read my work has been the joy of my life. And while these conversations have left me with many answers, several questions still remain. About myself, life, happiness, race and everything between.

To better understand how to move forward, I’ve decided to take a look back. To take a closer look at how I, and we, ended up at this place. As such, I introduce Hardly Black, new publication.

--

--

Ian Greenfield
Hardly Black

Nashville, TN. Founder @ Shockmouse Media, a better website and design solution.