Awkward, weird and everything imperfect

Haritha Bharath
Haritha Bharath
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2019
The most elegant picture I have of myself.

I never do things the way they should be done. Like right now, I was supposed to be making a portfolio but nah… I thought writing today was a good idea.

Hi! I’m Haritha and I trip over in public. A lot. I also clumsily bump into people and drop things while trying to wave my hand. I have cravings to wear short dresses in winter and long in summer.

And I don’t know how to say “hi!”. Should I smile? Should I walk over and say “hey”? Or should I wave from far away? Many times I just choose a different path to avoid small talks. I love spending time with people but saying “Hi! What’s up? How’s life?” Is just not my thing.

I greet dogs though and get them food sometimes (The only reason I go to the hostel mess in the morning). I don’t know why but they reciprocate really well. I talk to them. And I think Tom, my little doggy, has the most beautiful set of teeth in this world.

Oh! I don’t know how to walk gracefully or make random conversations. I crack weird jokes at the most inappropriate times and forget to speak when I’m supposed to.

I don’t have a good fashion sense and sometimes I wear shoes with kurtas. I don’t know what color to put on my nails or how to wear a scarf. And until I entered college, Mum used to braid my hair.

Naturally dressed up — a photo from childhood.

My balance sucks. Can’t remember walking without spilling water from a filled glass. The ‘Chai cups on a tray’ is an impossible task and yeah… I don’t know how to prepare one.

I kiss my little plant every night and tell him that I love him. I sing to him sometimes. I can’t go to sleep without making my room tidy and switching “on” the light. I sometimes even dream of animate objects.

I eat kinder joy and love Russian salad. I treat myself with dragon chicken after every dentist’s appointment even though I’ve been asked to avoid it. I try to jump and expect myself to fly (who knows maybe magic is real).

I know I’m weird and awkward and everything imperfect but I’d rather believe in flying than being grounded forever.

--

--