Marriage Equality as Explained by a 3 Year Old

Tim Adkins
harper cecile
Published in
2 min readJan 8, 2015

--

In her own words…

While I don’t have video or audio, I can assure you this is a true recurrence of this evening’s dinner conversation.

When I picked harper up from school today I was greeted by her apparent future husband, a 3 year old boy with baby blue eyes and an amazing jew-fro, who proclaimed,

“me and harper are getting married.”

I congratulated him with some knucks and wished him well. harper’s teacher told me she’d been kissing him all day long and it was about one slow dance away from being borderline inappropriate toddler behavior. So naturally, later in the evening at the dinner table, I asked her about her recent nuptiuals where she then proceeded to tell me that only girls marry boys and only boys marry girls. I explained, no that’s not true, boys can marry boys and girls can marry girls and that’s totally ok. I continued to tell her we don’t pick who we love, we just love the ones we do and that’s it.

After several pretty weak arguments, weak even for harper’s standards, including “you’re a big boy, mommy is a big girl and I’m a big girl so we all make the rules together.” She agreed that it’s ok and fine that girls can marry girls and boys can marry boys. Then she began naming things that girls can marry, like bicycles, my glasses, ears and even my beard. It’s here where I realized

My 3 year old understands marriage equality on about the same level as legislators in my beloved home state of Michigan.

The only thing missing was her explanation that if boys can marry boys than what would stop them from trying to marry the family dog or a Mr. Ed. This all led to a more in depth talk on equality in general and that girls can do all the things boys can do and vice versa, referencing the source of most political news for the average 3 year old, a recent Doc. McStuffins episode.

Being a dad is awesome.

--

--

Tim Adkins
harper cecile

harper’s dad. social do-gooder. storyteller. vegan. runner. coffee + beer enthusiast. co-founder @FUN_Atlanta #FuckUpATL || board of @WalkingwithKP #oneforrun