DNA

Harshita Kumbhar
Harshita’s Hood
Published in
4 min readMay 29, 2017
My Crazy, Lovely Family!

I visited my family this weekend. Mostly to bid goodbye as my leave for Bangalore comes close.

I sat with with my grandparents discussing the renovation of the house and how I had turned into an interior designer the past month. Nanu went through the pictures, providing feedback, arguing on adding a fancy jhoomar in the centre of the living room. I was hellbent on my opinion on keeping it as simple as possible. Of course, I have failed to an extent because parents but that’s where we were at. Casually discussing the current situations in our lives.

A second or two later, Nani entered with my coffee and began asking about the new job, role and stuff. I answered them all but the questions kept pouring. From just this job to my plans later in life, she quite smartly changed tracks.

Nope, none of them included marriage and kids. That’s only for jokes in my family. But, the questionnaire ended with a speech.

Nani began,“You have our blood, you know that, right? Your Nanu’s especially. This man here knew how to run a successful business without going to school. You are a step ahead already. I hope you know where you are going with your life.” I just stared blank, thinking where this speech was heading. Then, Nanu added — “I’m really glad how you have grown, on your own terms, with your own values. You hold your ground always, no matter how it affects others. You answer back to your wireman (my father, that’s what they call him.) when you know you are right. You’ve earned respect. You remind me of me — a rebel. But I was way too egoistic and stubborn. You’re not and I’m happy. It tells me we’ve all raised you right.” I was silently listening to all of it, smiling. There was no answer to this. Nanu went on,“And I know you want to be forever single and all that. But remember one thing, companionship is important. Especially if you want to run a business later in your life. Your Nani was there, through thick, thin and worse. Yes, we have fought many times but it was to make our lives or our children’s lives better. Find someone who will fight with you to make your life better, to push you and be there to support you if you fall.” To this, I aww-ed and hugged them lovelies. Nani ended by saying,“And don’t do anything just for more money, okay?” I was about to blurt out my explanation but she cut and said,“Yes, I know you don’t today but don’t do it ever. Enjoy your life.” Nanu winked and said,“Beat me at traveling and stories, if you can.” I scoffed and boasted how I will someday.

Later that evening, a long drive with my younger uncle happened. Beers were popped open. Few songs later, he began with the same question my Nani had initially cracked. The conversation led to the same track — running a business. He, by default, was better at understanding my future plans.

Him: “Do you have plans to run your own business someday?”
Me: “Yes. Why else do you think I am not wasting my time getting into a relationship right now?”
“Wasted too much time and energy in the past one, is it?”
“Yeah, now that I reflect back, quite a lot in a way.”
“What if you find somebody perfect for you and fall in love?”
“I don’t know. I hope not to ignore and at least, give it a chance.”
“Hmmm. Toh matlab, you don’t hate relationships?”
“Hahaha, of course not. It’s just that I’m incapable of being in one which is why it’s better to act like I hate them. Don’t want to give anybody false hope anyway. By the way, why is suddenly everyone lecturing me on entrepreneurship today? Nana-nani were on it too this entire afternoon.”
He laughed. “Really? That’s great.”
“I know, right!”
“Also, free relationship advice.”
“They really worry you’re going to end up living alone.”
“Perhaps, I will. Who knows. Anyway, you didn’t ask me about my business plans.”
“Did we just prove love is a distraction? Haha. But, go on, tell me.”
He listened to my entire plan and asked why I wasn’t working on it already. To which, my answer, as usual, is “I’m working on myself. Ideas need proper execution. Pretty sure I’m not capable of that right now.”
He carefully listened. “Gosh, you are growing old!”
I laughed. “Might as well build a time machine so we can go back to our old guitar days.”
“Oh guitar reminds me — don’t get too involved in work when you move to Bangalore. Continue your storytelling thing. Suits you.”
“You miss your guitar and salsa, don’t you?”
“Yeah, a little. But I have better things to do now. Like irritating your Mami or play-fighting with the kids.”
I smiled. “I’ll miss you guys.”
“Rehne de, nautanki. Don’t do this emotional naatak in front of me. Kuch miss-wiss nahi karne wali.”
We both laughed.

The love for stories, travel, conversations, music, dance, books, this strong, independent character and more — it’s all them. I complained to myself how there is nothing original in me. But looking at it closely, being the healthy mixture of their crazy DNAs, that’s me. It’s original and perhaps, perfect.

--

--