Narratives

Radhika Rastogi
Harvard Israel Trek 2015
1 min readMar 22, 2015

--

Reflecting on the whirlwind that was Israel Trek, I have a greater appreciation for the humanity of the Israel Palestine story.

When I learned I would be joining the trek this year, I hoped that the speakers would help clarify the timeline of the conflict, contextualize the wars and attempts at peace that have happened in the past century. Maybe better historical understanding would enable me to form informed opinions about rights and borders. However, it became clear that the conflict is not merely a retaliatory one. It is deeply rooted in individuals’ perceptions of the histories of their people, the land, and the rights they have been given. These perceptions are intertwined with the realities of war, exodus, and return, and identities born of religion and culture, creating infinite, complicated narratives.

It was striking to hear speaker after speaker, be they a journalist, politician, or military officer, emphasize the centrality of narratives. The recognition granted to these experiences by leaders involved in tactical decisions and public relations further validates the importance of trying to understand, if not necessarily agree with or accept, another’s story.

I leave the trek with less clarity and fewer convictions that I began with. I no longer understand the idea of an Israeli side or a Palestinian side nor do I seek to align myself with one. Instead, I wonder about the beliefs each individual carries with them and ways in which their lived experience interacts with the narrative inside.

--

--