Freedom and Falafels

Kelsey Young
Harvard Israel Trek 2018
2 min readApr 19, 2018

Israel is an incredible country. It is almost impossible to convey the entire spectrum of feelings I had on the trip. I had very few clear or vivid expectations for Israel prior to visiting. When I landed in Israel, I remember being shocked by the rich ecosystem, the greenery, the pale sunrise. It reminded me of all the biblical stories that described manna falling from heaven and feeding the Israelites after the exodus. Knowing even some of the history that had passed through the very cities that we were standing in was one of the most rewarding parts of the trip.

There were many parts of this trip that filled me with joy, awe, and excitement. I stayed in the Judean desert and counted all the stars instead of sheep to fall asleep. I ate my weight in crispy falafels, shashuka, sweet figs, and hummus, drank wine at the Golan Heights Winery, swam in the Dead Sea, and rode camels into one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen. These name just a few of the precious moments that I will remember from this trek.

But the trek also filled me with inner contradictions, questions and frustrations. Visiting the holocaust museum was, for me, the most impactful part of the trip. I felt the deep, personal wounds that had led to the birth of the state of Israel. I also felt profound sympathy and frustration on behalf of the Palestinians we spoke to, who felt trapped and misunderstood in their own homes. Going on this trek truly helped me to understand the pain on both sides of this conflict. In just the few days that we were there, I felt overwhelmed with uncertainty about what the right path forward could possibly be in a situation where every decision seemed to offer more questions than answers.

Fortunately, the speakers on the trek were forces of incredible inspiration to me. Even though I did not agree with or even understand all the things we heard on the trek, I did understand that so much of the incredible progress that has already been made in Israel was borne simply out of public engagement. Those speakers were constant reminders that small acts of courage and care in defending underrepresented, marginalized communities can make all the difference. I am so grateful not only that I got to experience the Israeli country and culture, but also that I benefitted from the guidance and patience of our amazing trek leaders and the friendship of all my fellow trekkers.

--

--