Israel: A Beautiful, Complex Land

Daisy Evariz
Harvard Israel Trek 2018
3 min readApr 6, 2018

I am so incredibly grateful for the opportunity to have visited Israel through the Harvard Israel Trek and have met such incredible people. As a mechanical engineer concentrator, I consider myself a very practical person who is always seeking to understand why. I feel like there is reason behind everything, however so many times during this trip I found myself so conflicted and not being able to come up with explanations to questions that I had.

For instance, one moment from the trip that particularly stood out to me was visiting the wall that separates Palestine from Israel. Upon seeing the wall, I felt like I was slapped in the face with the reality of a barrier that could potentially come to be between Mexico and the U.S. As someone whose grandparents came to the U.S. for opportunities for their future generations, I identify as Mexican-American. It was heartbreaking to realize that this wall is a PHSYICAL, VISIBLE barrier. I can’t even imagine having to raise a child in a reality like this. How can you even start to explain the Israel-Palestine conflict to them? How can you tell them that this wall will keep them from exploring?

Another moment that I will never forget was standing on the United Nations base that overlooks Syria, which was 40miles away. I recall our tour guide, Amir, saying to be aware that at any moment we could possibly see or hear a bomb go off. The thought of this gave me anxiety: I wanted to get out of there as soon as possible. I couldn’t bear the idea of seeing a bomb go off and knowing that innocent people were killed. I felt so guilty for being able to stand on top of that hill, look at Syria and think ‘Wow, those valleys look so beautiful’. In the moment I tried to think of nothing but how nice the view was out of fear of having a panic attack if I even thought of the reality that so many people face in Syria. Only later, when I wasn’t actually looking at Syria, could I stop and reflect on the anger that I felt with myself for being so privileged to be able to not have to worry about every second of my life possibly being the last. I felt angry with the world for letting this happen. I felt saddened by the innocent lives that suffer everyday and the fact that for so long I was ignorant to this.

I have no idea who is to blame or what the solution is in regards to the Israel-Palestine conflict, or if my opinion even holds any ground (as I am not someone who fully understands the conflict). However, I am so grateful to have had this opportunity to understand this conflict from various perspectives. Although I still have many unanswered questions, I have a foundational understanding of the conflict. This newfound awareness makes me feel like I have the responsibility to continue to stay aware and do whatever I can to help and aware others of the situation.

I am most grateful for the incredible people that I met on this trip. From late night talks with my peers to our amazing Trek leaders and phenomenal tour guide, Amir. I am so amazed by the deep conversations and discussions that were generated over the course of this trip. Everyone was so willing to share their personal experiences that I feel that I was lucky enough to gain various perspectives on Israel. As a result my appreciation for the beauty and complexity of Israel was only enhanced.

--

--