Life is SABICH

Kevon Edmondson
Harvard Israel Trek 2018
3 min readApr 21, 2018

Life is sababa until it’s not. We were exploring the Carmel and Nachalat Binyamin Market, and the first order of business was finding lunch. I ended up going back and forth between two seemingly standard places with chicken schnitzel. I remember standing in a small mass of people, and everything seeming normal until I had been standing in line for about 30–40 minutes. Faces started looking a bit dissimilar, but I wasn’t quite sure if I was being skipped. Another Trekker had been waiting for his order for a comparable amount of time. I suppose someone who had ordered the same thing had taken his order.

In retrospect, the Trek Leaders had mentioned that Israelis tend to view lines differently than Americans. We respect them (generally) and, here, they tend to skip them.

I was experiencing this cultural exchange first-hand. As I was patiently waiting my turn, the everyday people were seizing their opportunity. When I finally got the attention of the server and asked for a chicken schnitzel, he informed me that they were out of chicken schnitzel. To say I was ‘hangry’ would be an understatement. I did a deep inhale-exhale-inhale and moved on. Luck would have it that I would run into a few trekkers who would go on to recommend another lunch spot.

I didn’t have data, so I clumsily used Google maps (offline) to navigate through Tel Aviv in search of Tsernicovski street. When I finally found the place, I quickly joined the line. Thankfully, this was not yet another learning lesson. This time there was, in fact, a formal line.

source: tripadvisor (Kelsey C)

When I made my way to the front of the line, I had no idea what the restaurant offered, considering everything was in Hebrew. And so, I asked for a chicken schnitzel. I am sure at this point, I sound like the biggest fan of chicken schnitzel — and I am ok with that. Anyway the restaurant ended up being vegetarian. I still had no idea what they offered, so I asked for falafel — no dice. And then I said just give me everything. And that was the best decision ever. Sabich Tsernikovski, THANK YOU!!! I had no idea what I was eating and actually just found out what Sabich is as a result of writing this reflection.

source: tripadvisor (Kelsey C)

For me, Israel Trek was a bit like Sabich. I did not really know what to expect, but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Granted, Israel is much more complicated than a delicious sandwich, and there is much more at stake. However, after Israel Trek, I am much more invested in the discussion.

--

--