There Ain’t No Mountain High Enough: Mt. Bental and the Quest for Peace

T.J. Foley
Harvard Israel Trek 2018
3 min readApr 30, 2018

On a clear day, tourists flock to the summit of Mt. Bental and gaze miles into neighboring Syria. When I ventured up the mountain with my 56 other Trek friends, I stood on the peak, looked out, and saw the lanscape reflect the current problems consuming the Middle East. All around me were reminders of violent engagements of the past and ongoing disputes in the present. For the first time in my life, I stood in a war zone. But unlike what we see on the news or in video games, I realized I was surrounded by signs of peace.

Looking to my left, I saw the ghost of past conflicts. Rusty gun turrets and weathered armaments remind visitors of Israel’s past conflicts. They were built to defend the small country against an invasion from the north and serve as constant reminders of the bloody and controversial history of the Israeli state.

A decomissioned gun turret atop Mt. Bental in the Golan Heights

At first glance, I only saw the former weapon of war. Like many, I only saw the depressing history of violence. Upon a closer inspection, I found new and vibrant life all around the old artifact. Wildflowers sprung up, birds chirped, and a large bush stands where the gun once aimed. Even places of war and death can be reclaimed by the forces of life.

After spending a good deal of time examining the remains of past wars, I walked across the summit to the right side of the mountain, which faces Syria. In a few steps, I went from reflecting on the history of war to staring it right in the face. The peak of Mt. Bental is less then two and a half miles away from the Syrian border. Using a telephoto lens, I zoomed my camera in as far as it could go. I will never forget what I found.

The ruins of a village, now abandoned due to the brutal Syrian Civil War

For a moment, I was speechless. Stone structures were reduced to rubble just a few kilometers away from where I was standing. This town was abandoned by its occupants due to intense fighting between the government and the rebels. Sure, I’ve read about the Syrian Civil War before, but my temporary proximity to the battlefield changed my understanding of the conflict. I had forgotten the people behind the news. Kids played, parents worked, families laughed, and children learned. But because of civil unrest and revolution, they were displaced and forced to give everything up for the sake of survival. It was a chilling reminder the sacrafices that some are forced to make as a result of horrific circumstances.

Past wars and contemporary battles converge on Mt. Bental. With both the Syrian Civil War and Israeli-Palestinean conflict persisting with no end in sight, it is easy to lose hope in the future. However, standing at the apex of the mountain, higher than the surrounding lanscape, is a reminder of what everyone hopes to achieve. It is a simple plastic post displaying “May Peace Prevail on Earth” in Hebrew, Arabic, and English.

The peace post on top of Mt. Bental

Involved in the placement of this post is symbolism of the highest order. Standing above both historical and modern conflicts, it directs our attention towards the important pursuit of peace. It represents the broader hope of people all over the Middle East and the world, who believe that governments and citizens can rise above conflict and find a way to end it.

In many respects, the Middle East is just like Mt. Bental. It exists at the intersection of historical and modern conflicts, but does not allow the violence to define itself. All over the region there are signs of life, just like there are signs of life all over the mountain, with peace standing atop the summit. I only hope that some day, we may reach it.

--

--