From Film to Games: how world traveller Nevil Thummar has continued to push the envelope in the art world!

Hashbane Team
Hashbane Interactive
5 min readJun 9, 2024

What inspired your career?

There are lots of things that inspired me. One of my favourite movies, is “The Lord of the Rings,” was the one that I felt was a turning point and boosted me to pursue a career in the field of VFX and games.

What’s the most interesting project you’ve worked on besides Instinction?

Prehistoric Planet seasons 1 & 2 were the most interesting projects for me and hands down INSTINCTION!

What’s your passion outside of work?

Outside of my work as an artist, I’m passionate about exploring the world through travel and improving my photography skills, and I want to master skateboarding for an added adrenaline rush.

What’s your favourite music genre?

I enjoy several genres of music, including classic Indian 80s music, classic English pop/Rock, and dance-pop.

What accomplishment are you most proud of, personally or professionally?

In my opinion, every asset is a blank canvas waiting to be painted. Personally, I am pleased with my collaboration with my fellow artists, as I learn from them and implement what I have learned in my personal and professional work.

What’s something you hope to achieve in the future?

My long-term goal is to work as a senior/lead texturing artist at Weta Digital, inspired by the films “The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.” Weta is my dream company, and I believe their work is unmatched.

What’s something surprising people may not know about you?

Despite my love for the outdoors, I’ve never been camping overnight.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

Learn from the past and improve in the present for a brighter future.

What’s something you wish you had more time for?

If I had more time, I would love to learn more about the various genres and characters of anime, especially the compelling art in anime and manga. I would also love to explore the world and travel too.

Big Ben, United Kingdom

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned in your career so far?

Time management and learning to balance improving the quality of work and increasing my knowledge of my craft.

What are some notable projects/companies you’ve worked with?

- Prehistoric Planet season 1 & 2.

- Pinocchio.

- The Last Duel.

Where did you grow up and where do you live now?

I grew up in India. I currently live in the United Kingdom.

What’s your favourite travel destination and why?

Japan is one of my favourite travel destinations and was my first stop. As a huge anime fan, Japan has a rich artistic heritage that continues to shape the global manga landscape with its creative work and vibrant storytelling style. I went to Animate, the world’s largest anime store; it was like a dream come true. Japan is still on my bucket list of places to visit.

Do you have any pets, and can you tell us about them?

I don’t have any pets right now, but I’d like to have a cat in the near future.

What’s an interesting fact or hobby about you?

Playing cricket and gradually learning skateboarding are two of my hobbies.

What’s your favourite film or TV show, and why?

The Shining and The Exorcist are my favourite horror movies. I am a big horror fan. These two movies were more imaginatively terrifying than most modern horror movies.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

I wanted to be a businessman!

What’s a career highlight of yours?

One of my career high points happened when I was taking texturing and lookdev training at the Xentrix studio in 2019, I was praised for my finest work over the entire three months of training in front of the entire studio.

Universal Studios Japan

What was a big hurdle you had to overcome in your career?

One of the major challenges I had was during the pandemic period when I had a lengthy stretch of unemployment at the beginning of my career. However, I used the time to further develop and concentrate on my abilities.

What are your favourite video games?

Dying Light 1 and 2 stand out as my favourite video games due to their gripping survival horror gameplay, intense zombie encounters, and immersive open-world environments. And yes, INSTINCTION is already on my Steam wishlist, can’t wait to play.

If you could be any dinosaur, which would you be and why?

Giraffatitan, with my towering antics, I’d give new meaning to the phrase “reaching for my dreams” and make everyone smile!

Giraffatitan

What is it like working at Hashbane?

Hashbane is the finest spot for me to work because it marked the beginning of my new career in the gaming industry after a long gap due to the pandemic. Every day, I strive to better myself by learning from my superiors and improving/managing my work. Additionally, the studio allows us artists independence and always values the work that we do. The finest aspect of Hashbane is its supportive environment and kind people.

Sanjay and Nevil at Heathrow Airport

--

--

Hashbane Team
Hashbane Interactive

We Build. You Play. Dinosaurs in our Hearts and Crosshairs. @instinctiongame